Time To Hit The Restart Button

restart2016 has been an odd year for me in terms of running. I had big ambitions and had to push myself hard to achieve them, but it wasn’t much fun. I was tired, I was struggling and was barely able to achieve the minimum that I had set myself, so in the end I just stopped. I didn’t run, didn’t blog and barely logged on to see what everyone else was doing. I just couldn’t face it. I needed a break, so I took one.

But now that I’ve had some time off, enough time to miss what I really love about running, I figured that the time is right to hit the restart button and get back to Couch To 5K… and stick to it.

This time round though, things are going to be different. I’m not going to think about races, or parkrun, or PBs or anything like that. I’m just going to run to get back in shape. For the most part, this will probably be on the treadmill, as I found the cold air really played havoc with my breathing when I did the Poppy Run in November, but that’s ok. I’m not making any apologies for running indoors. Not this time.

My goal, my one and only goal is to be able to run 5K without walk breaks. That’s it. Nothing more.

Of course, that might change later on, but for now I’m going to try to be sensible, take it easy and stick to the program for the next nine weeks and see how it goes.

So, this afternoon, I completed W1D1 on the treadmill. 30 minutes of walking and running and walking. Not difficult, but got the old heart rate up again for the first time in over a month, so it’s a start.

How’s your training going? Have you set any running goals for 2017? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Time To Hit The Restart Button”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    Welcome back hunny! Just do it for the love! Things will ‘happen’ from there! Xxxx

  2. ultraboycreates says :

    Great post, I’ve had similar situations to the one you seem to have been through. After much soul searching and rummaging around the backwaters of my legs I’ve finally found what I needed and the direction to make it happen. I didn’t quite have to hit the reset button but it wasn’t far off and now 2017 is set to be all about doing the running I enjoy! Have a great year

  3. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    Don’t you just love that you can hit the re-start button? I fell off the running wagon once again but jumped back on with a run on Tuesday (oh dear, was it Tuesday or Monday? too lazy to check). For the past two days, I’ve counted shoveling the driveway as my exercise, but I may run in place on the mini-tramp later (I don’t have a treadmill). Absolutely do no apologize for running indoors! The important thing is that you are off the couch an enjoying it! Rock on!

  4. artisticsharon says :

    Hi Kirsten, oh boy can I relate to your post! I haven’t run AT ALL for far too long and I am planning to hit the ‘reset button’ too! My running buddies talked me into signing up for a 4 mile run on Super Bowl Sunday (Feb 5) so I have to get moving!! I went for a 1 mile walk on Christmas day but nothing since…2017 here I come!

  5. Kerrie says :

    I look forward to keeping up with you again! I’m back to the restart button too! Fingers crossed! Hope you’ve had a lovely Christmas! Have a lovely new year too!

    • Kirsten says :

      Hey Kerrie. Christmas was great, thanks. I hope you had a good one too. I’m quite excited about getting back to C25K again… just like old times! 😉
      Happy New Year to you too. x

  6. Anna @ Piper's Run says :

    We all have to start over at some point! I’ve been there many times very the last 2 years. Honestly, any run is a good run, even on a treadmill. I love having one and wouldn’t get most of my winter runs in, if I didn’t have one.

    • Kirsten says :

      Thanks Anna. I wouldn’t have run half of what I did last year if it hadn’t been for the treadmill – best thing I ever bought… probably… 🙂

  7. dgobs says :

    I support all of this! I felt similar these past few months… just couldn’t blog or keep track of other blogs… just didn’t have the mental capacity for it. I think we all just need breaks sometimes. I’m glad to see you back, and I’ll be cheering you on as you take down that 5k goal 🙂 Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

