Running For Fun

It’s so nice not having a race to train for at the moment. OK, so I still have a goal and a plan to reach it, but the pressure is off and, strangely, my lack of upcoming races is giving me the motivation to get off my backside and run!

Under normal circumstances (i.e. having a race to train for) I would feel guilty about running on the treadmill instead of going outside, but not today. Today I was supposed to have a 5K run outside, but I didn’t feel like it, so I ran inside instead.

My goal was to run 5K in under 35 minutes, so I upped my ratio to 5:1, keeping the pace nice and slow. It felt good and I could have done more and could probably have gone faster, but I knew I would pay for it later. So I stuck to the plan and finished on pace at 34:46.

How’s your training going? Are you running for fun or working towards your next race? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Running For Fun”

  1. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I, too, am merely running for fun, and thanks for the reminder that running IS fun and that is why I do it! I actually had a 14K this month I have long wanted to run, but I just haven’t trained enough and am not willing to kill myself (I COULD run it, but only because I am too stubborn to quit once started). I am actually more concerned with my weight loss goals than my running goals, but I think I will put those aside and concentrate instead on fitness goals and writing goals. Keep having fun!

    • Kirsten says :

      Thanks, and you too! I think I get a little bit obsessed with my goals sometimes, so it’s good to take a step back and remind myself that the most important goal is to enjoy it. Keep up the great work with the fitness and writing! 🙂

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    running for fun is the only way for me… enjoy it K! that way you will keep doing it xxx i don’t think you should EVER feel guilty about the treadmill! never EVER!

  3. artisticsharon says :

    my plan to get back into running for fun has hit a tiny snag…I have a residual issue with my hip & knee after that 10k. So instead of doing nothing, I’ve gone out the last two mornings and taken a short walk – only about 1 – 1.5 miles but the important thing for me is just to get going, so I’m happy with that!

    I agree with CeeJayKay…you should never, ever feel guilty about running on the treadmill! It’s still running and if you enjoyed it, it’s a double WIN!

    • Kirsten says :

      Oh no! I hope you’re ok. That’s good that you are able to get out and walk though – keeping moving is definitely the way to go. Take care, recover well and I’m sure you’ll be back running again in no time. xxx

  4. diawalker says :

    My plan after next February is to learn to enjoy the moment (i.e. run) more. Training is definitely pressure. Training for my first marathon…torture, but exciting at the same time!

  5. dgobs says :

    Running for fun is so freeing! There’s always so much guilt when I’m training for something and miss a session or don’t get one quite right. Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

