A Sporty Sunday

After a couple of days rest, the old calf was feeling much better this morning, so I headed to the seafront for  a nice easy 5K

The temperature had dropped a bit over night and it felt lovely and cool when I set off. My aim was to run/walk 5K in something between 35 and 37 minutes, using a 3:1 ratio.

This worked well for the first couple of kilometres, but as the temperature warmed up, I found that I was starting to struggle. Not to be put off though, I reminded myself that this was supposed to be an ‘easy’ run, and dropped the ratio as and when I felt like it.

Not worrying too much about pace, I started to settle in to the run and enjoyed watching the activity on the seafront. The Brighton and Hove Triathlon was taking place this weekend, so it was inspiring to see some of the triathletes running past as I plodded my way along the promenade.

I completed my 5K in 36:45, which was just within my target time, so I was happy with that and enjoyed the cool down walk back along the prom and home again in time to watch The Great North Run from the comfort of my couch.

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-10-50-15

Then, to top off this Sporting Sunday, today is the first weekend of the new NFL season. The Giants (my favourite team) don’t play until 9:25pm, so I’ll probably watch The Bengals (my second favourites) at 6:00pm and catch up with the rest tomorrow.

How’s your weekend going? Did you get a run in today? What’s your favourite spectator sport? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “A Sporty Sunday”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Great run Kirsten…I love the ‘easy runs’!! And glad to hear your calf isn’t bothering you 😀 I love that you are into the NFL…had no idea anyone in GB even cared!! LOL Of course your favorite team is a rival of my fav – the Redskins – I’m just glad you’re not a Cowboy 😀

    • Kirsten says :

      Thanks Sharon. NFL has a pretty decent following over here and we do a get a few games in London each season, which probably helps – not that I’ve been to any yet, but maybe one day. That’s funny we like rival teams. And no, I’m definitely not a Cowboy! 😀

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

