If In Doubt…

Today was supposed to be a run day, but the niggle I picked up on Sunday is still there. Much as I wanted to get running this evening after work, I figured that it wasn’t worth risking it. I’d rather wait a few more days than take the chance of doing some real damage.

At the same time though, I didn’t want to set myself back before I’d even started, so I decided to do a session on the exercise bike instead. It was pretty much the same session as yesterday, using the C25K app, taking it easy on the ‘walk’ sections and pushing harder for the ‘run’ sections.

As with yesterday’s workout, it had no impact whatsoever on the calf strain and I felt pretty good when I’d finished. I even managed to get my heart rate a bit higher than yesterday, so that’s got to be a good sign.

According to my Training Peaks stats, even though the workout is improving my general fitness levels, it doesn’t have the same benefits as a run would have. So, going forward, the rule is that if I have to miss a run, I’ll do two sessions on the exercise bike instead to keep things ticking over.

How’s your training going? What do you do if you are unable to run? Do you skip the session or do something different instead? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “If In Doubt…”

  1. emilia m. says :

    I’m still trying to convince myself that cross training is a must… and then to figure out what… sigh. Too lazy to do it, am not sure. Good for you though!!! 😀

    • Kirsten says :

      Thanks Emilia. I’ve never really got into cross-training either, although always intended to build it in. Having tried the ‘running through it’ and ‘doing nothing at all’ methods of injury recovery in the past, I think I’ve found a place for it now though. 😉

      • emilia m. says :

        I guess I was lucky enough that most what I dealt with was some sprained muscle which went away after rolling it for a few days, now though I discovered a true pain in the… (literally it is that muscle that hurts 😉 ), and am intending to do something about it – strength training, maybe FINALLY signing up for a gym… 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

