Time To Regroup

Now that the South Coast Challenge is out of the way, I figured it’s time to regroup and think about what I really want to get from running.

While I have, for the most part, enjoyed the challenge of longer races, I really miss that feeling of being able to run continuously without walk breaks – working to improve pace and gain a PB rather than constantly struggling to up the distance. So, I have come to a decision.

For the next few months my focus is going to be on achieving that illusive sub-30 5K. I’ve come close a few times and know that, with the right type of training, it is achievable. I just need to focus, get a training plan in place, and stick to it.

Before coming up with a realistic training plan, however, I need to see where I’m at. Although I have been running on the treadmill a fair bit recently, it has been a while since I’ve run a continuous 5K outside. So, the first step will be to have a bit of a test run this weekend and then from Monday the training begins.

I can’t wait!

How’s your training going? What are you working towards with your running? Are you aiming for a PB or trying to up your distance? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Time To Regroup”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle says :

    You’ll be great, I am sure of it! I am just trying to figure out how I can consistently fit in a few runs each week. LOL!

  2. artisticsharon says :

    That’s a great plan Kirstin!! I’ve been managing a huge project at work that’s taken my focus off running (or I’ve allowed it to!). Its wrapping up here in the next couple of weeks and I want to get back into a routine of running…for pleasure, not for any specific distance or speed. That will be my plan and I’ll be watching you as you progress with yours. πŸ˜€

    • Kirsten says :

      I like your plan Sharon! Running for fun is the best! I hope you’re doing well and look forward to reading all about your pleasure running. Don’t work too hard. πŸ™‚ x

  3. JakeB says :

    I’m having a bit of a blip at the moment having been overseas somewhere ludicrously hot for six months, and therefore not having any races to work towards and being unable to train as I normally do. It’s been quite strange but I’m looking forward to getting home and finding a new goal. If I get into the London Marathon ballot it’ll be that, if not I’ll find something else. For now, I’ve signed up for a little half marathon to get me back into the swing of it πŸ™‚

  4. CeeJayKay says :

    Its good to have a plan i hear Kirsten… *lol* i don’t make plans but thats how i am enjoying my run at the moment… but if you have set a goal and if a plan is what it takes for you to achieve that goal… what better place to start than where you are now? You have found your ‘mojo’ again, its strong and WOW you have done a REALLY amazing long race!!! GO YOU! keep us posted! You will do it… keep inspiring sweetpea! xxx

    • Kirsten says :

      Ha ha! Thanks CeeJay! Making plans is the easy part; it’s sticking to them that I have trouble with. πŸ˜‰
      Good to hear you’re having fun with your running too. πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

