Still Here…

I realise I haven’t posted for a while, but I’m still here, so thought it was time to check in with a quick update.

The training hasn’t been going too well over the last few weeks. There hasn’t been much running lately, although I did manage an out and back 30K walk/run along the coast a couple of weeks ago.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 21.09.04

I won’t go into a blow by blow account, but let’s just say that I learned a few useful lessons for the 50K that’s coming up:

  1. Trim toenails a couple of days before the race
  2. Don’t forget the sunscreen, even when it’s cloudy.
  3. Prep feet with zinc oxide tape before going out.
  4. Check that running socks don’t have holes in them.
  5. Remember to pack the blister kit

In short, I got sunburn, blisters and almost lost a toenail, but apart from that it was kind of fun. And I got at least one good photograph.

IMG_2762

The photograph was taken on the way out, at about 10K, looking back towards Saltdean. Brighton is further back beyond the cliffs in the distance, so I was feeling pretty good that I’d managed to tackle those hills that you can see.

Even though it was mostly walking, with some downhill running, it was good practice for the 50K as the first part of the race will be pretty much like this. Not that it’s going to be much of a race for me now, but it will still be fun running down all the hills.

How’s your training going? How do you prepare for long runs in the heat? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Still Here…”

  1. FitBubbz says :

    Beautiful view! How long did this take you to complete?

    • Kirsten says :

      It took a bit over 6 hours, including some extended rest stops, so not fast at all but good to get some miles on the old legs. 🙂

      • FitBubbz says :

        That’s pretty good! I asked because I’m training for a marathon and I know at some point during my training I’ll have to do a long “run” like that (it will probably be mostly walking for me too). Thanks 🙂

      • Kirsten says :

        That’s exciting! It’s good to go slow on long training runs (run/walks). Have you checked out Jeff Galloway’s run/walk programme? It got me through my first (and only) marathon a couple of years ago. 🙂

      • FitBubbz says :

        Yea I have. I used his program to get me through my first half marathon.

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Hey Kirsten glad to see you’re still out there! my training has been rather spotty as well but all of my issues are in my head not my feet. I finally got a few consistent runs in last week but I’m not feeling confident for the 10K this weekend… time will tell.

    You’re a real trooper to go through all of those issues with your feet and sunburn… at least you know better for next time LOL 😉

    • Kirsten says :

      Ha ha! yes, hopefully I’ve learned my lesson. 🙂

      I’m sure you’ll be great for your 10K at the weekend and those last few runs should help. Best of luck with the race and I look forward to hearing all about it. 🙂

  3. CeeJayKay says :

    MISSED YOU!!!! YOU are being EPIC!!!! 30km??? wow I’m super impressed! that view is awesome, would love to able to run there.
    Urgh, I’ve just been plagued with niggles and issues, to the point where i haven’t had a proper run since December… *sigh* almost a year now (depressed writing that) but i have kept up with walking and the odd run/walk/run… all thats important to me now is staying uninjured and being able to get out, no more clock watching for me.
    SO happy to see you back and see that your 50km is still on track… you brave girl and you will BE FAB doing it!!!
    *mwah*

    • Kirsten says :

      Thanks CeeJay. Missed you too! 🙂
      I’m still not running properly either but getting out there and remaining injury free is the most important thing, even if it does mean walking or run/walking. Good to see you’re enjoying the walking too, which reminds me, I need to get a pair of those walking poles you recommended! 🙂

  4. Sam says :

    Welcome back! Well done on the run, that’s pretty immense!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

