Getting Some Miles In

What with all of the excitement of the Euros and Wimbledon, I haven’t managed to get much running in this week and, with some big matches this weekend, I was getting a bit concerned about my already haphazard training plan. But then I remembered… I have a treadmill!

Yes, running while watching TV has become one of my favourite things to do. So, I set up the laptop on top of the ironing board and tuned in to watch McEnroe (the younger) and Bahrami take on Woodbridge and Woodforde in the Gentlemen’s Senior Doubles Invitation. Bahrami’s antics on court were certainly entertaining and gave me something to focus on while trying to complete my 10K.

My strategy was to run 0.9 miles and then walk 0.1. This seemed to work pretty well and I was able to stick to the ratio throughout the run, finishing the 10K in just over 1:08.

As I’m only 7 weeks away from Race Day, however, I really need to be getting more miles under my feet. So, after a bacon sarnie and a bit of bimbling around, I decided to watch the Women’s Singles Final with a second 10K.

My legs were pretty tired after the earlier run, so I decided to change the ratio to 0.45 miles running and 0.05 walking. The time would be about the same if I could stick to it, but I figured it might be a bit easier on the old legs.

The first 3 miles were a bit of a struggle, so I decided to take it mile by mile and see how it went. I even considered reducing the ratio, but then I remembered that saying about how running is more mental than physical and realised that what I really needed to do was to knuckle down and start training my mind to not give up.

So, again, at about 1:08 I completed 10K, and just in time to see Serena win the match while I was doing my cool down walk.

I also did another 5K on the treadmill yesterday evening, which gives me a weekly total of 25K so far. Not bad for a week without running! I may even do the same thing again for the Men’s Final, but I’m not making any promises!

How’s your training going? Did you get your running done this weekend? Please share your thought in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Getting Some Miles In”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Woah! look at you with a double 10K day…quite impressive! I also watched Serena win @ Wimbledon this morning but I was sitting on my duff doing it… now I really feel like slug 😉

  2. Sam says :

    Well done on the double!

  3. dgobs says :

    As much as I don’t love the treadmill, I would LOVE to have one at home in front of the tv! I could have run or at least walked during all those Euro matches 🙂 Maybe someday…

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

