An Eventful Treadmill Run

Who said treadmill running was boring? Well, I have, because they generally are, but today’s treadmill run was a bit more eventful than usual.

I was supposed to do a Half Marathon distance run/walk this morning, but when I remembered that ‘Paddle Round The Pier’ was going on I figured that by the time I would be heading back, the seafront would probably be mobbed, so I opted for a treadmill run instead.

Knowing that the hardest part running for over 2 hours on the treadmill would be sheer and utter boredom, I decided to watch one of my favourite YouTube documentaries on the run – it’s the one where a guy runs Badwater for the first time and almost wins it, which is about 2 hours long.

The only way I could watch it while running though, was to put my laptop on the ironing board, put the ironing board in front of the treadmill and hope that the cat wouldn’t do her usual trick of sitting on the keyboard whenever I try to watch something on the computer – luckily she was otherwise occupied with the window for most of the morning.

So, that being done, I grabbed my Garmin (so that I could upload my workout time), and hopped on to the treadmill for a bit of a warm up walk. I’m still not certain about whether the treadmill is in miles or kilometres – the manual says kilometres but since I’ve been running outside more, I’ve been comparing the two and I reckon it has to be miles.

This does mean that the running on the treadmill is a bit faster than running outside, but without wind, hills and other humans to contend with, that might make sense. Anyway, I figured I’d assume it is miles and see what happened on today’s run.

Of course, pretty much as soon as I started the run, my stomach started complaining. I think I managed about half a mile before I had to give up and sort myself out.

The second attempt was slightly better. I decided on a ratio where I would run for 0.9 of a mile at 6 mph and then walk 0.1 at 3.5. This was working quite well for the first 23 minutes, until my bottle decided to launch itself from from the drink holder and I accidentally stopped the treadmill trying to retrieve it, setting everything back to zero again.

I was a bit miffed to say the least, but the guy on the Badwater documentary gave me some hope, so I reset the Garmin (again), found a better place for the bottle, and hopped back on for round three. Third time lucky, right?

Even though my legs had already covered 2.5 miles (or thereabouts) I was feeling pretty good and continued with my ratio for the first half of the run. By half way though, my legs were getting tired, so I started reducing the running sections and increasing the walk breaks. This seemed to be working, but as I watched the timer on the treadmill pass the 9 minute mark, I realised that there was no space on the console for anything over 99 minutes and 59 seconds.

I kind of hoped that nothing would happen other than that the clock would continue from zero again. That would be fine. My brain could deal with that. What I didn’t expect though, was that the treadmill would slow down to a stop and the distance I had already covered would disappear!

Luckily, I clocked the distance as 9.04 miles just before everything stopped, so I knew how much further I had to go. My legs were drained of energy by this point and I was running less that half a mile for each run segment, but I was getting there. I just needed to get in another 4.06 miles and I’d be done.

In the end, I completed the 13.1 miles in 2:29:54, which is slower than most of my previous Half Marathons, but a bit faster than I expected. Taking into account how I felt at the end, and the fact that running on the treadmill ought to be a bit quicker than running outside, I’m pretty much convinced that miles win over kilometres where the treadmill is concerned.

Either way though, a two and a half hour run/walk should help to get the training back on track.

How’s your training going? Have you had an eventful run recently? Do you plan your training runs according to distance or time on your feet? Please share your thought in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “An Eventful Treadmill Run”

  1. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I have been known to run slower on treadmills just because I am less motivated, but I very rarely run on a treadmill. In fact, I don’t own one but have my mother’s mini-trampoline, which I run in place on when I can’t get outside. I find it deadly dull, even with the television on. However, your treadmill run sounded very eventful. Rock on!

  2. Anna @ Piper's Run says :

    Good for you! My treadmill is in Kilometers and when I run at the gym in miles I’m always messed up! I always watch something when I run on my treadmill, only way to get it done.

  3. willbfit says :

    Wow Kirsten!! You are doing great!! Way to go!! I think that’s a terrific time!! Man, I gotta get my butt in gear. Lol!!

    • Kirsten says :

      Ha ha! Thanks Maria. You’re doing great! I’m so impressed with the way you have picked yourself up over the last few weeks. Keep up the great work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

