I Need A Plan…

There’s just over eight weeks to go until race day and my training has hit a slump. I’m not sure what’s going wrong. I try to get in regular runs and gradually increase the distance, but it’s just not working the way that it should.

Maybe I’m expecting too much. After all, I did have a long break from running after my injury. But even with that in mind, I still don’t feel I’m making the progress that I need to.

What tends to happen is that I have a couple of good weeks where things are going well, followed by a slump where I just don’t have the energy to have a decent run, which is pretty much where I am at this week.

This evening though,ย I made myself get out for a bit of a run. I told myself that even a slow 5K would be better than nothing, but it was slow. I had very little stamina and had to take way more walk breaks than I should have – not good when you’ve got a 50K race coming up and you’re still finding 5K a bit of a struggle.

I think I may have to resign myself to the fact that August’s race is going to be more of a walk than a run, which is a bit of a shame. However I have raised ยฃ200 already for charity, with another ยฃ40 on its way from last month’s virtual races, so I shouldn’t complain too much.

I just need to come up with a new training plan…

How’s your running going? What do you do when your training isn’t going to plan? Do you adjust your training plan or try to stick with it until the end? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “I Need A Plan…”

  1. waynerobinson42 says :

    Sometimes I adjust my plan, but most of the time if I look at what else is going on in or around my life I realize I need to adjust other things to get my mileage. I normally I found I am not getting my mileage because I said yes to many people and agreed to do to much extra stuff which takes away from the time a allotted to get my training in.

  2. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    You are so right that a slow 5K is better than nothing at all! I can’t offer any advice about training, being quite painfully ignorant myself, but I believe plateaus or even slumps are common. I personally have been doing GREAT this week, because my place of employment is on shutdown. It is so wonderful to run first thing in the morning! However, I don’t think I could ever manage 50Ks. I was delighted the morning I realized I could definitely run the DARE 5K (it includes rather a bear of a hill). Not rock it, mind you, but definitely run it. You know, slowly. Hey, awesome on the fundraising! I don’t do fundraising for the DARE run, I just pay my $20 registration fee. Perhaps I should step up my money game, since my run game will never be anything to shout about.

    • Kirsten says :

      That’s great that you can run the hill now. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t usually fundraise as I hate asking people of money, and only do it if it’s a requirement of the race. Once in a while is ok, but it can get a bit ridiculous when half of your friends on Facebook are posting their fundraising pages. Still, it’s all for a good cause. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • mohawkvalleygirl says :

        I am so with you about asking people for money! I’ve only done it twice in recent years, when I had my head shaved for St. Baldrick’s Foundation. I’d love another bad ‘do, but don’t want to do another round of begging. Last year I sold candy bars for Sitrin’s Veterans Rehabilitation. That isn’t so bad, but I made more with straight begging.

  3. Gail says :

    I always adjust, but I also look at my nutrition. especially if I am feeling lethargic. Lastly, have you looked at The Galloway Method? Eight weeks is not that long before a 50k if you’re struggling with just 5k, but this just might be your ticket to success. Check it out. http://www.jeffgalloway.com/ I had the good fortune to actually meet Jeff when I lived in Raleigh, NC. If you’re resigned to walking most of the 50 k anyway, this will be an effective way for you to at least run some of it. I am a blogger here as well, and a certified fitness professional and running coach. Please drop by my blog anytime and say hello.

    • Kirsten says :

      Thanks Gail. I’ve used Jeff Galloway’s method before and it worked really well for me. I can get up to a half marathon at the moment without too much trouble using run/walk, but was hoping to get back to running without walk breaks again. So yeah, 50K running all the way isn’t going to happen and I will probably have to go back to run/walk again.

    • Kirsten says :

      Nutrition is definitely something I need to look at though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Anna @ Piper's Run says :

    This sounds too familiar! Just keep putting one foot in front of the other. I haven’t gone for a run in two weeks but have played soccer and rode my bike once! Gotta get back at it.

    • Kirsten says :

      Thanks Anna. One foot in front of the other is definitely the way to go! That’s good you’re still getting some exercise in though – it all counts, right? I hope you get a run in this weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. rdudeyr says :

    Nice post, I hope training is going well for you! What’s your new training plan?

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

