A Funny Old Run

Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 20.42.39This evening’s run was a strange one. I have to start increasing my distance so I planned to step my mid-week run up to 6K instead of 5K. After last week’s improvements I figured I should be able to run at least the first half without a walk break, but it didn’t quite work out like that.

I started slowly with a couple of 1K laps of Hove Rec, but it was a struggle. It was warm and humid and there wasn’t much of a breeze to cool things down a bit, but I did manage to keep going without walking.

As I approached the 2K mark though, I decided to head down to the park.There was a nice little incline on the way, but once I was in the park I realised that enough was enough. I needed to walk, just for a minute to cool down a bit.

I wasn’t feeling great and even briefly considered ditching the run altogether, but I was on the wrong side of the park for that, so reverted to my favourite run/walk ratio – 3 minutes running and 1 minute walking.

This helped a lot and I started to feel much better, even extending the running sections here and there.

Once I started to get into my stride, I became more aware of the other people in the park. There were a few runners around, so plenty of smiles, waves and friendly grunts were exchanged as I made my way round a second lap and completed the 6K in 43:17, which isn’t too far off pace, all things considered.

How’s your training going? Did you get a run in this week? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: ,

4 responses to “A Funny Old Run”

  1. dgobs says :

    Humidity makes for miserable running! Well done sticking it out 🙂

  2. artisticsharon says :

    ugh, you know how I feel about humidity! lol For me, run/walk intervals end up being faster than if I tried to run the whole way…weird, I know!!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

