A Nice Little 5K Run

Two mid week runs? Yup, that’s right, I managed to haul myself out the door again tonight for another little 5K run. Well, when I say run, it was more of a shuffle, but it was a good shuffle.

The plan was to try to keep going for as long as possible without a walk break, so I started off nice and slowly, with the  1K loop at Hove Rec. Even with my slow pace, I found it hard to keep going though. I was tired and my breathing wasn’t great, but I kept running for the first kilometre and soon started to get into my stride.

However, the more I ran, the more I realised that I really needed to get to a toilet. I reckoned I would be ok for another kilometre or so though, so I decided to head down to Hove Park and run the long way round to the public toilets.

Despite the bladder issue, I managed to keep running for almost 3 kilometres, and could probably have reached the 3K if I hadn’t reached the facilities first. But needs must, so I paused the Garmin and did what had to be done before returning to the path for another loop of the park.

In the end, I completed the 5K in 35:17 (excluding the pause) and only had one short walk break, so it feels like progress.

26-06-16_Splits

How’s your running going? Have you run this week? Feel free to leave a comment and let me know how you’re doing – I love getting comments. 🙂

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “A Nice Little 5K Run”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Good for you! The humidity has arrived with full force and I just can’t seem to talk myself into running…there’s supposed to be a bit of a break this weekend so hopefully I’ll get a run in. However I’m flying to Maryland tomorrow to visit with my niece so……we’ll see if I can do it :-s

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. Your climate is crazy! I really don’t know how you do it in the humidity, but I’ll keep my fingers crossed you get the break in the weather that you need. I hope you you have a good time with your niece. 🙂

  2. willbfit says :

    Great job!! You are rockin and rollin!!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

