Lovely Day For A Trail Run

early-morning-exercise-2-fb-2I woke up early this morning and decided to head out for my scheduled run before my brain had a chance to figure out what was happening. Not that I would have talked myself out of it, but it was promising to be a very warm day, so putting it off would only bring trouble later.

As it was warm and sunny (and early!) I opted for a pair of shorts instead of my regular running trousers. I don’t often run in shorts and my legs have barely seen the light of day in years, but I figured there wouldn’t be too many people around before 8 am to be blinded by the strange blue glow emanating from my skin, so I went for it.

I started the run nice and slowly with a kilometre of easy running through Hove Park before hitting the trail. It was the usual plan, walk uphill and run downhill and on the flat, but I did manage a couple of short bursts of running to get me to the top of the first climb.

In fact, I would probably have run a bit more if it hadn’t been for the nettles and weeds that have started making their way across some of the narrower sections of the trail. Luckily though, despite my bare legs, I managed to escape with no stings and only a few scratches.

After emerging from the trail, I crossed over to the field on the other side of the road. This section is fairly flat so I tried to run as much of it as possible before the next hill appeared, reminding myself that I wasn’t out to break any records – just take it slow so that you can run as much as possible.

Before long, I was heading into the woods for my favourite part of the trail, with a nice long downhill section and lots of dips and turns to keep me on my toes. Of course, the climb back up again isn’t quite so much fun, but I managed to maintain a good walking pace for the most part, and even got in a few short bursts of running here and there.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 11.06.00

uphill sections are in red

After that, it was plain sailing, with a bit if a run walk across the field and then a good run back down through the nettles and weeds before returning to Hove Park.

Usually, I stop running when I get to the bottom of the hill, but for some reason this morning I found that I was still going once I hit the park and didn’t want to stop.

I checked the Garmin and realised that I’d completed more than the 8K that I had planned to do, but I was having so much fun that I decided I’d keep going to 10K instead. Naturally, I was pretty tired by then, so slowed back down quite a bit and reverted to run/walk even on the flatter sections, but it didn’t matter because I was feeling better than I’ve felt in a long time at the end of a run.

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 11.07.01

I guess the training is starting to pay off after all.

How’s your training going? Do you like to run in the morning? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Lovely Day For A Trail Run”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    Woooohooo cooking Kirs!!!!

  2. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    On the weekends I like to get up, into my running clothes and on the go before I well know what I’m about. During the week I work too early most of the time. Your trail run sounds fun. I have to either drive to the nearest trail or build up my running till I can run to it. How terrible of me that I didn’t run this morning, but I confess to feeling quite happy that it was pouring rain. Rock on!

  3. dgobs says :

    That’s awesome! I’m looking forward to my training taking me back to a place where I’ll keep going because I’m feeling great and having fun 🙂 I love the image at the top of the post, too! Hehe so true.

  4. Canuck Carl says :

    Always nice to have gone further than you planned on going further than your plan, which includes in your graph some pretty impressive hill sections. Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

