Cutting Back On Walk Breaks

I was supposed to run yesterday, but decided against it as I’d gone for a 12K walk on Sunday and my legs were feeling a bit lazy. Or maybe I was just feeling lazy in general? That’s probably more like it. But with less than 13 weeks to go until the South Coast Challenge, I knew I had to make up for it this evening.

The plan was to do 4K on the treadmill, but I didn’t really fancy it. So I procrastinated on the inter web for a few hours until I eventually realised (at 8pm) that the only way I was going to get a run in was if I went outside.

It was quite windy and a bit damp and chilly, so instead of heading for the seafront, I opted for a few laps of Hove Rec. I don’t normally run there at night, what with the narrow path, bushes and vague possibility of being killed by an axe murderer, but as it was quite light outside I figured I’d take my chances. At least there wouldn’t be any toddlers on scooters to trip me up.

There weren’t many people around, which was nice as it meant I didn’t have to dodge anyone on the path, but it wasn’t deserted either – a couple of dog walkers and an old man doing laps on his bike, who I was sure would fend off any potential villains.

The other good thing about there not being many people around was that I felt comfortable taking things nice and slowly. Not that I’m ever fast these days, but I do sometimes try to go a bit faster than I should when there are a lot of other people around.

Anyway, going slowly felt really good, so much so that I went for a full 10 minutes before taking my first walk break – something I haven’t done (except on the treadmill) for a very long time. In fact, throughout the whole session I only stopped to walk four times, and for no more than a minute each time, which gave me another much needed confidence boost!

The over all time, however, was a bit slower than my run at the weekend, but not by much and I did manage to achieve negative splits for the first time in ages too!

Screen Shot 2016-05-31 at 21.22.59

All in all, I think I’m starting to feel a pretty good about running again, so hopefully I’ll be back to running 5K without walk breaks within the next few weeks – well, that’s the plan anyway.

How’s your training going? How do you feel about running in the evening? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Cutting Back On Walk Breaks”

  1. Canuck Carl says :

    Well done. Always nice to get out when it is quiet, but not completely deserted. I prefer evening runs. I work a physical job during the day, and run according to how energy there is left after my day! 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Carl. Getting out in the evening after a day at work is definitely challenging sometimes, but a good way to run off the stresses of the day. I need to do more of that but, as you say, depends on how much energy is left in the tank. 😉

  2. dgobs says :

    Nice job! I find that I always try to run a bit faster when there are more people about too. I run in the evening quite a bit, as I’m much more likely to run after work than before, but I tend to avoid the dark/deserted areas. Something between that and the toddlers/dogs/strollers extravaganzas on nice evenings is the sweet spot 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      That’s the trouble with running on the seafront sometimes. It’s can be lovely early in the morning or in the evening (wind permitting), but as soon as the sun comes out and the temperature rises, it’s becomes a bit of an obstacle course at any time of the day (or night for that matter!). Still, I shouldn’t complain – it is nice to live by the sea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

