Confidence Boost

This past week’s training has been pretty good. After last Sunday’s slow 3K on the treadmill, I topped up my training with a 11K walk along the seafront. It’s not the same as running, I know, but I figure that if I can’t run the distance then walking it is the next best thing. And, let’s face it, chances are that I’m going to do a fair bit of walking in August’s South Coast Challenge 50K.

I also managed to get a mid-week run in last week – another slow 3K on the treadmill, but slightly faster than Sunday’s effort and with fewer walk breaks, so again, it’s all good progress.

Today, I planned to do another treadmill run, but as I was getting ready I changed my mind and decided to head outside instead. For some reason, I’ve become a bit self-conscious about running outside again. I’m not sure why. Probably because I’ve slowed down a lot over the last year, but my slow treadmill runs had been getting me down a bit and I wanted needed to prove to myself that I’m not as slow as the treadmill would have me believe.

In order to get a better idea of how slow/quick I really am, I decided to head for the seafront. It’s nice and flat along the promenade, so any walk breaks would be because I needed recovery time, not because there was a great big hill in front of me.

I didn’t have any fixed plan about how to approach the run, but once I got going I decided to try a 3:1 run/walk ratio. This worked really well for the first 3K, which I completed in 20:35 (Take that Mr Treadmill!), but as the run went on I found that I was tiring and had to reduce the ratios. By the final kilometre I was down to a 1:1 ratio, but still managed to complete 5K in 35:29, which is pretty much what I was hoping for at this stage.

2016-05-28_Pace

As far as the treadmill goes, I’m still not sure. Maybe I am just slower on the treadmill and, if that’s the case, then it’s no bad thing as running slowly is good for endurance. However, getting outside in the sunshine really did boost my confidence and I’m finally starting to feel that I’m making some progress again.

2016-05-28_Splits

How’s your training going? Did you get out for a run this weekend? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Confidence Boost”

  1. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I don’t own a treadmill but any time I’ve run on one I seem to go slower. Personally I just love to get outside and I am much more motivated by looking at the sights and occasionally stopping to pet a dog. I don’t think you need to worry about running slow; you should see my middle-age shuffle! And I agree that walking is the next best thing (actually probably better for the joints, but I don’t care, I love to run). Rock on!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yeah, I do still prefer running outside too but seem to have got out of the habit. Walking helps with that too, because whenever I got out for a long walk I see runners and think, ‘damn it, I should have worn my running clothes and then I could have had a bit of a run too.’ 😉

  2. artisticsharon says :

    haha…you’re still faster than me if that makes you feel any better! I try not to let my pace bother me…I know I’m not fast but it feels fast to me 😉 I think you’re right to plan on walking a good part of 50k…that’s huge! I went for 5 miles this morning…now I’m bushed & ready for bed.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! I don’t mind being slower than most and try not to worry too much about pace at the moment either. I guess it’s just frustrating because I used to be a bit quicker than I am now and could run without walk breaks; but yeah, walking and running slowly is probably going to be better for the 50K.
      I hope you’re having a good weekend – sounds like you had a good 5 miles too. 🙂

  3. Canuck Carl says :

    Did a 10k run in the evening, but was still very hot, so I just walked another couple of k’s to help the body cool down and regulate itself.

    The words “South Coast Challenge” sounds both inviting and challenging. Who doesn’t run along a coast, but that word “challenge” says it might be a tough one.

    All the best in your continual training! 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. I love running along the coast, but this one is 50K, so definitely a challenge for me! 🙂
      I hope your training is going well too. 🙂

  4. dgobs says :

    Nice! That’s definitely progress, and way to show Mr Treadmill!! I always feel so incredibly slow on the ‘mill and it’s disheartening. Keep up the great work! 🙂

  5. fisefton says :

    I have always found my times on the treadmill to be slower than running outside. I usually use the treadmill for training if the weather is really horrible and I don’t want to run outside. I get on there knowing that my time is going to be really bad. I’m not sure the distance/speed is necessarily accurate on the treadmill though so I go for time spent rather than distance etc. We have a couple of the curve treadmills at the gym now which are very interesting to say the least – you power it with your leg turnover speed. I’ve only been on it a couple of times and found that a fast walk or slow run was my limit.

    Keep up the fab work you’re doing. Getting back into running slowly is always best. 🙂 x

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Fiona. Going by time on the treadmill sounds like a better way of approaching it and at least you know you’ve had a good workout by the end of it. Not sure I fancy those curve ones though! Sounds like hard work. ;-P

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

