10K Trails and Kit

I have finally completed a whole week of scheduled training runs! Whoop!

I know, it shouldn’t really deserve a whoop, but I can’t remember the last time I actually stuck to a training plan for more than two sessions, so for me it’s a mini-milestone.

Today’s run was a scheduled 10K Trail Run/Walk. The total climb for the route was about 180 metres, with grades as steep as 15% in places, so there was no way I was going to be running all of it. Heck! I can’t even run 5K on the flat at the moment without walk breaks! But run or walk, it’s all time on the old feet and that’s what counts right now.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 11.31.38

As the race that I am training for will involve carrying a back pack, I decided to use this morning’s run to test out my Camelbak. I hadn’t used it in a very long time so had to make sure I gave it a good rinse out before putting a couple of litresย of water in the bladder. I don’t need as much as that for a 10K, but I wanted to put a little bit of weight in it to try it out.

On the whole, the Camelback was fairly comfortable. It did move around a bit and the drinking tube kept popping up and rubbing at my neck, so I’ll have to sort that out. But otherwise it was absolutely fine. Of course, I’ll have to add some weight to it over the next few weeks just to make sure.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 12.00.04The one piece of kit that I did missย on this run though, is a walking pole. Although I probably won’t run much of the uphills on the day, I did struggle this morning when walking the steepest section of my route, which was only at about 5.5K. With big climbs at around 20K and 30K of this summer’s race, it’s probably not a bad idea to invest in a light weight retractable pole to get me through the tougher bits.

All in all, the run went pretty well and I completed the 10K in a very slow but nonetheless satisfying 1:25:20.

How’s your training? Do you try out your kit before race day? What’sย your favourite pice of running kit? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “10K Trails and Kit”

  1. Keith says :

    ๐Ÿ˜ƒ well done

  2. dgobs says :

    Whoop!! I say that’s totally deserved ๐Ÿ™‚ I rarely am able to stick with training plans for very long, so I’m always super chuffed when I do!

  3. CeeJayKay says :

    Wow! How fab! You go girl! Looks like your Mojo is BACK!!!!

  4. artisticsharon says :

    Whoop whoop for you! I agree it’s a milestone for sure. I think your time is great for a 10k…of course that’s compared to me :p My recent favorite running item is the FlipBelt I bought to replace my fanny pack…LOVE it!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon! I’m happy with any time right now. As long as we get a run in, that’s the important bit. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Oh and you just reminded me I need a FlipBelt too. I’ll add it to the kit list. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. fisefton says :

    Any time you get out and complete a training run it deserves a “whoop!” Well done for getting out there ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

