A Sunny Evening Run

This evening I was supposed to do 2K on the treadmill. But, since it was warm and sunny outside, I decided to head outside for a bit of a run on the seafront.

When I say a ‘bit’ of a run, what I mean is that I ran a bit and walked a bit. I decided not to go for a strict run/walk ratio though and just see how I felt. After all, it has been a while since I’ve run along there, so I just wanted to see what I could do.

It went pretty well, despite the toddling baby cyclistsΒ and teenagers on skateboards wandering in front of me, and I managed to complete the first two kilometres in under 14 minutes – not great by my old standards, but much quicker than the treadmill!

As I was feeling pretty good, I decided to keep going for a while longer, running up past the King Alfred Centre to the corner of Hove Street and then back to my starting point. That took me to 3.5K, by which point I was starting to feel tired, so I headed for home – run walking to make it to a full 4K.

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 19.52.40

My time wasn’t great, but I was still pleased as it was a heck of a lot faster than anything I’ve been doing on the treadmill. Plus, I was running outside again in the evening sunshine, which is something I haven’t done in a very long time!

How’s your training going? Are you getting out more now that the evenings are becoming lighter and warmer? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “A Sunny Evening Run”

  1. Keith says :

    Well done. Sounds ideal and it sounds like the nice weather is helping to rebuild our running mojos πŸ™‚

  2. Leah Hallissey says :

    Looks like we’re getting back into it at the same time. I just joined a Notts Women Runners C25K group – really weird but nice running with other people!

  3. artisticsharon says :

    Yay You! I much prefer running outside to the treadmill but it’s not always possible. I’m due for 3 miles in the morning and the weather should be quite nice in the upper 50s.

  4. CeeJayKay says :

    so cool! The sun makes the HUGEST difference hey K!!! I use the treadmill when the wind is blowing… HATE the wind… throw anything else at me but wind! WELL DONE… and hey, you will get back to where you were, just don’t stress about it, put too much pressure on yourself etc… its something you love doing so just keep loving it and it will come xxx

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks CeeJay. I know what you mean about the wind. Rain and drizzle are fine by me and I don’t mind too much if it’s a bit cold, but running against the wind is not fun! You’re right about not stressing about it. I think I’m over the whole trying to get faster thing (for now at least) and just focussing on getting out and enjoying it again. πŸ™‚

  5. dgobs says :

    Nicely done! Running outside is so much more pleasant than the treadmill, even with toddling cyclists and the odd boarder. I’m jealous of your lovely running weather – it’s been cold and rainy here for over a week now and I haven’t been able to get arsed enough to run. And the treadmill is too depressing for May! Urgh. Hopefully either it will clear up soon or I’ll stop being lazy πŸ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ I felt like that pretty much all through the winter, hence my lack of running in recent months. I hope the sun comes your way soon – sunshine is a definite cure for laziness… but only if it’s not too hot of course. πŸ˜‰

      • dgobs says :

        Thank you! I hope so too. And I hope the lovely weather sticks around for you!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

