Don’t Give Up

I can hardly believe it has been a year since I ran the Brighton Marathon – a year since I have taken part in any race; or trained consistently.

With the exception of a few failed attempts at re-doing C25K and the odd run here and there, it seems that I’ve pretty much had a whole year off fromย running. To be fair though, I was a bit injured after the marathon and probably needed a proper break from training, but that doesn’t mean I’ve given up.

On the contrary, after seeing all the happy finishers from this year’s Brighton Marathon, I’m more determined than ever to get back into training. And, with the South Coast Challenge 50K a whole 4 months away, I reckon I’ve got just about enough time to get myself ready.

Of course, I’m starting from scratch again, more or less, but frustrating as it is to not be able to run for long without a walk break, I’m determined to stick with it.

I’ve decided not to do C25K again though. Much as I like the structure of the whole thing, and even though I know it works, I need to start getting some long runs in as soon as possible – even if they do involve more walking than running.

Today though, was a short run on the treadmill. And yes, I had to have a couple of walk breaks, but that’s ok. It’s better than sitting on the couch and I know that I can build up fairly quickly again – the trick is to keep going and not to give up… not ever!

How’s your training going? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Don’t Give Up”

  1. dgobs says :

    “The trick is to keep going and not give up… ever!” I love that ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s frustrating having to start over so many times – I’m with you! – but giving up altogether just isn’t an option. Good luck!!

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    Ditto babes! Haven’t run since Jan/Feb ๐Ÿ˜ฆ but never give up… We all have slumps… If you can think it… You can do it xxx welcome back!!!

  3. artisticsharon says :

    I’m right there with you! I’ve had quite a few starts & stops in the last month but I’m not giving up either! I love seeing your posts – they inspire me to ‘GET MOVING’ ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Bre Lopez says :

    Like your title says “Don’t give up” and keep going. You will be back to running in no time. Patience is the key to your own success. Believe you can do it and the rest is history. I am a runner too, and trust me, I have my struggles. But like my friend told me once: “you are a tough cookie and if you want it, you will work for it”….so there you go, your dedication will show how much you want to get there again!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Great advice Bre. Patience is a tricky one, but I you’re right, it is one of the most important parts of training – got to put some trust in the process and try not to get frustrated when the progress is slow. Thank you for your words of encouragement. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

