Every K Counts

Yesterday I made a promise to myself to try to run at least one kilometre per day. It’s not much, I know, and hardly counts as proper training, but it does count nonetheless. It counts because for ten minutes or so when I would have been sitting around doing nothing, I was pounding away on the treadmill getting hot, sweaty and making my heart work harder than usual; it counts because even though I didn’t really feel like running this evening, I’d made a promise to myself and I kept it; and it counts because that’s two days in a row and when you go from one to two, that’s called counting.

So, yes, it was only one kilometre and it was slow and it was indoors, but if I can keep this up for a week or so then maybe it will help me to get back into a regular running routine again, which is the first step towards what any kind of proper training.

How’s your training going? How easy or difficult do you find it to get back into a proper routine again after a break from training? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Every K Counts”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    I just saw your post from yesterday and I think I’ll join you starting tomorrow. 1 mile a day (cuz I’m in the US and we don’t know how to use the metric system! lol!) Lets keep each other motivated 😀

    I also need to find my next race…but I seem to be procrastinating 😦

    • theblogrunner says :

      Absolutely! A mile or a kilometre is achievable every day, and knowing you’re doing it will keep me motivated too – no pressure… 😉
      I usually binge sign-up for races, so procrastination on that front might be a blessing – I’m sure you’ll find a good one soon though. 🙂

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    what a kewl idea… i find that with my Polar set to 10 000 steps a day, i try to do at least hat every day… so if its short by the time I’ve done dinner, i take a quick walk… and i reward myself at the end of the week with a nice Starbucks or Costa if I’ve done 100% all week… seems to be working and really challenged myself to keep it up too!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Love the idea about the steps and that’s great that you’re sticking to it. For me at the moment it’s about doing something that isn’t too hard so that I can get into a routine – if I think about the distance I have to run in August, I tend to get scared and bury my head in a packet of crisps. 😉
      Keep up the great work! 🙂

  3. Kerrie says :

    Keep it up! 😊🏃 it’s a good idea – I really like it! At that rate you will top what I ran during the entire month of Jan and probably Feb. So every K does count!
    And as for routine, I cancelled all three classes at the gym this week 🙈 oh dear!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! If I keep it up I’ll probably top what I’ve run all year. 😀
      You always impress me with the amount you do each week, whether at the gym or with your running, so I’m sure cancelling a few classes won’t do you any harm – rest days are when the magic is supposed to happen, right?
      Still, I hope next week is better for you. xx

  4. suburbanrunner says :

    The only person who sets your target, and your limits, is you! 1k a day is a fantastic start, I hope you keep building it up!

    https://thesuburbanrunner.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

