Treadmill Stride Length

In an effort to try to get into more of a regular running routine, I decided to have a short run on the treadmill again this morning. My aim was to run for 30 minutes and try to go a bit faster, but it didn’t quite work out like that.

One of the things I’ve noticed about running on the treadmill is that I feel like I’m going faster than I actually am, and today I realised why – it’s to do with my stride, or rather, my lack of stride.

While I’m becoming more and more comfortable with using the machine each time I run on it, I think there’s still a fear of not being able to keep up. The way I deal with this is by taking lots of very small steps, which means my legs are going faster and my heart is working harder but my pace is much slower than it ought be.

Towards the end of this morning’s run, I tried to lengthen my stride a bit and, although I was pretty tired by that point, I think it made a difference in terms of the amount of effort I had to put in to keep up. I also experimented by reducing the speed to a fast walking pace and jogging for a little while. And guess what? The walking stride was longer and easier than the jogging – makes sense I guess.

In the end, I completed 2.09 km in 20 minutes. Next time though, I’m going to try to increase my stride  for the whole run and see if I can increase the speed a bit more.

How’s your training going? Do you run differently on the treadmill than on the road? Has using the treadmill helped you to improve your running style? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Treadmill Stride Length”

  1. EmmaJCarson says :

    Hi – I’ve never really enjoyed treadmill running since everyone else seems to be going much faster than me! You can see it on their display panels unless they drape a towel over it. And yes, you’re right, sometimes walking and just striding out can be faster than jogging – weird, eh?

    • theblogrunner says :

      It is weird, but I guess I’m just a slow runner. Luckily my treadmill is in my living room so no one other than my cat gets to see how slow I go at the moment, and she’s sworn to secrecy. 😉

  2. dgobs says :

    I definitely run differently on the treadmill than I do on the road, and tend to spend most of my treadmill runs obsessing over my stride. I overstride anyway, and have been trying to work on taking smaller steps, but on treadmills I”m all over the place. I hope the stride adjustment helps make the treadmill experience better for you!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. It is still a bit weird running on the treadmill, but it’s getting better. I think I may have been stretching the truth a bit about my stride though – it’s barely a shuffle at the moment. 😉
      You’re right about overstraining too though – it’s weird trying to get your body to do one thing when you want it to do the opposite, but hopefully it will come with practice.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

