A Gentle Reminder

Look what arrived in the post! My new training t-shit, and a gentle reminder that I need to get my arse into gear before the ultra training begins.

t-shirt

It’s still six months before I embark on my second Ultra Marathon, the South Coast Challenge 50K, but if I’m going to have a real go at running this one, then I need to get moving.

The only other ultra that I have ever attempted was the London to Brighton 100K, which I ended up walking for most of the route, but this time I’m hoping that things will be different.

Firstly, this one half the distance, which should make it more doable. They do have a 100K option, but that would mean running past my front door (ok, two streets away from my front door) at the half way point, which I’m not sure I could cope with – especially as public transport from Arundel to Hove isn’t that great; my house, on the other hand, is about a 5 minute walk from the 50K finish line, which will hopefully motivate me to keep going.

I live on the street below and to the left of the train station. The yellow house symbol is the 50K point.

I live on the street below and to the right of the red train station symbol. The yellow house symbol is the 50K point.

Secondly, even though I was in better shape before I started my 100K training than I am at the moment, at that time my training mostly involved very long walks and not much running at all. Also, I only started training nine weeks before the event itself. Yeah, I know, it’s a miracle that I didn’t die, but it gives me hope that with six months to train for the 50K, I should be able to do much better this time around.

So, with all of that in mind, and having taken a couple of days annual leave from work, I hopped on the treadmill this afternoon for a nice easy 30 min jog, covering 3.09 km with no walk breaks. Still slow, I know, but it will do for now.

How’s your training going? Have you ever had to run past your house during a long race? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: ,

8 responses to “A Gentle Reminder”

  1. Keith says :

    Now that’s some planning. Picking a finish line near your house! I wish!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! I know, it’s good isn’t it? I didn’t know exactly where it would be when I signed up as they only published the route in the last few days. I thought I’d at least have to catch a bus. 🙂

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Having a goal/race/event has always been my key to keep training…you sure know how to ‘go big’!! You’ve got the right idea giving yourself plenty of time to build up strength and endurance. Can’t wait to watch this unfold 😀

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. It’s still a long way off, but it is a pretty big goal so hopefully knowing how much I have to improve will keep me focused for the next few months. 🙂

  3. dgobs says :

    Wow – an ultra! I’m always gobsmacked when I hear about people running those – so impressive! I had to run past my house during my worst 5K race ever… not nearly as bad as running past it in the midst of an ultra, but I was still *so* tempted to just run inside and quit. I didn’t though! 🙂 Good luck with your training!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. I’m not a serious ultra runner though – my aim is to run more than I walk, so if I can do that I’ll be more than happy. 🙂
      Running past your house in any race is going to be hard if you’re struggling, so well done for finishing. At least it’s not too far to crawl home once it’s over. 😉

  4. fisefton says :

    It’s great when an event is so close to home. The York 10K starts and finishes at the Racecourse which is about a mile from my house 🙂
    Well done for continuing to get on the treadmill. I find that I run faster outside after training on the treadmill.

    • theblogrunner says :

      A one mile walk home sounds ideal after a race, and easy to get to as well.
      I haven’t run outside at all since I got the treadmill so it will be interesting to see what happens – maybe I’ll catch a good tailwind. 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

