Jump to Week 5

What is it going to take to get me motivated this year?

Up until now, I’d assumed that my procrastination with running had been down to the recent bouts of bad weather – wind, rain and more winds that were so strong that the weather people even started naming them. But that didn’t really make sense. I mean, this time last year I was running along the seafront for over two hours at a time, with wind, rain and waves crashing on the promenade and it didn’t bother me at all.

Still, I am getting older (aren’t we all) so I put my sudden dislike of bad weather down to old age and bought myself a treadmill to try to combat the problem.Β But almost three weeks after buying the treadmill, I’ve hardly used it. So what’s going on?

It took me a while to figure it out, but I think that the problem is that I’m too impatient. I just can’t be bothered starting over with Couch to 5K again and again and again. So, this morning I decided to try something different. I decided that I would just run on the treadmill (very slowly) until I didn’t feel like running any more.

I started with a couple of minutes walking, just to warm up, before upping the speed to 6.5 km/h. I know, that’s not much faster than walking pace, but the idea was to go slowly to see how long I could keep running for. This is another good thing about the treadmill, as there’s no temptation toΒ engage in secret races with other runners while training, so staying slow is not a problem.

To my surprise, I managed to run for about 20 minutes, which is what you have to do in Week 5, Day 3 of C25K. This gave me a huge lift as it means that if I want to follow C25K, I only have to do another three weeks! In total I covered 2.4K in 25 minutes (including about 5 mins of walking) which is ridiculously slow, but I don’t really care. The important thing is to get running and keep running, no matter what the pace.

In terms of a training plan though, I’ve decided not to have one for the time being. I need to get back to running because I want to, not because the training plan is telling me to. Once I’m back up to speed mentally as well as physically, I’ll think about it, but for now I just want to have some fun with it.

How’s your running and training going? Please share your thoughts and experiences in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Jump to Week 5”

  1. Keith says :

    Sounds like you and I are very alike in our approach. As you know I finally got back into my kit today and your blog did help as it proves that we all approach this at different angles but as long as you enjoy the running that is all that matters. Keep it up

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Keith. I definitely find blogging helps too – reading about how everyone does things differently provides some reassurance at times like this, and seeing how well you’ve done today is really encouraging. We’ll all get there as long as we enjoy the journey along the way. Keep up the great work! πŸ™‚

  2. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I think not having a plan is an excellent plan! Your post makes me remember something I sometimes forget: different things work at different times. For example, last year I got motivated by signing up for the Boilermaker 15K. Having a goal was the way to go. Right now, like you, I just want to enjoy running. Blogging absolutely helps! For one reason, when I’m on the road, I’m narrating my blog post in my head and it adds a whole other layer of interest to the activity. Rock on!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. πŸ™‚
      Yeah, I’ve done that too – not quite narrating, but thinking of what I’m going to blog about while I’m running.
      Signing up for races usually helps too, but as you say different things work at different times. Good to see you’re enjoying your running too. Rock on indeed! πŸ˜‰

  3. Kerrie says :

    I thought about redoing the c25k but then I know I couldn’t. I’ve done it once successfully and I’m past that now. Even though my fitness has dropped. I’m looking at half marathon training once my running returns back . However, as much as I like the structure of a plan I just like to run and set myself a target on the day.
    Keep going πŸ™‚ I set myself frequency rather than mile aims for a few weeks. 15 minutes is better than nothing 😊

  4. artisticsharon says :

    I hear ya Kirsten…it’s so hard when your head just isn’t into it. I think you’re on to something – just running because you WANT to and as fast and as far as you WANT to. It’s good to put the plan aside for a little while and just reengage with the feeling of running.

    Lately I’ve been running without music – I never thought I could but I did the first 8 miles of my race yesterday without any music. It was quite refreshing to just observe my surroundings and surprisingly, the time seeming to go by more quickly – weird!

    Be kind with yourself and don’t worry about pace/speed at this point – it really will come back to you once your ‘head’ gets sorted out πŸ˜€

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I think that’s it – once my head is back in the right place it should be fine.
      Changing things up really can make a difference too. I did the same as you – ran with music for ages then had to do without for a race that didn’t allow headphones. I couldn’t believe how much I didn’t miss the music! I still use music on the treadmill, but now hardly ever when running outside. πŸ™‚

  5. dgobs says :

    I hear you!! I abandoned C25K for the same reason… well, that and I got injured again, but I didn’t restart because I was way too impatient. “The important thing is to get running and keep running, no matter what the pace” – yes!! I have to keep telling myself this too. Keep it up! πŸ™‚

  6. Bree says :

    Oh wow, well done! I have just started C25K – graduated week 2 today. I can’t even manage a 5 minute run yet, let alone a 20 minute run, so hopefully within a few weeks I will be there. Feel free to come laugh along with me at my super slow progress, as I am blogging about how it all goes πŸ™‚ https://runpedalswim.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

