Treadmill Day 2

Today was my second day of doing C25K on the treadmill and I’m pleased to say that I managed a lot better than yesterday i.e. didn’t come anywhere near close to falling off, didn’t stop the machine by accident and didn’t feel like I’d just spent a year at sea when I tried to walk on the floor again.

The pace was, however, was still very slow. I think this is partly to do with getting used to running at a set pace rather than allowing the old legs to do what they want to, but it also has a lot to do with confidence and feeling comfortable with running on a moving surface – I did wobble a few times, but only a little bit.

The other problem with the treadmill is that once you stop, the time and distance disappears. I did notice as I slowed to my final walk break that I’d covered about 2 kilometres in around 23 minutes, which is pretty terrible really, although it does include the 5 minute warm up walk at the start.

Still, one of my reasons for starting right at the beginning of C25K again is that I can use the first few sessionsΒ to get used to the machine, so it’s all good really.

How’s your running and training going? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Treadmill Day 2”

  1. Kerrie says :

    I hate the treadmill! I’ll use it to walk fast up an incline if I really have to but that’s it. I always feel like the world is still moving when I step off so I dare not spend more then 20 minutes or so on it. And I always feel like my pace is fast but it looks so slow too on the treadmill dash. I built up confidence on it enough to run 10kmph – absolutely stoked thinking it was 10 miles per hour πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but I don’t tend to make it any faster.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! I hated it when they made me go on one to buy running shoes, but that could be to do with the fact that I hate shopping.
      I’m totally with you on the speed thing – at first I was sure they’d sent me a machine that does mph instead of kph, but then I realised that was just wishful thinking.
      Anyway, so far so good, but definitely doesn’t come close to running outside. πŸ™‚

      • Kerrie says :

        Yeah I don’t think you can beat outside. Even going full belt on the treadmill isn’t the same as outside. Sometimes I can’t believe the speed my Garmin picks up when I’m running. (Occasionally sprinting over the road ect πŸ˜‰ ) and I don’t think I dare attempt that on the treadmill. They are still awesome for training on, specially late at night and I’m sure once you get used to it, it will be fine. I must admit if I had one in my house….

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    Oh I think that’s FAB! Well done! I started my C24k on Roger! Without him I would never have started! So you go girl!!!
    The right music and you will be dancing on yours!!! Got a name for it yet?

  3. theblogrunner says :

    Thanks CeeJay. I haven’t named it, but now I’m thinking I ought to… Trevor perhaps? πŸ˜‰

  4. kirstles says :

    Hi! I started my blog this morning and my post is very similar to yours, I just wondered if you maybe wanted to follow each other? Moral support! We can do it!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Excellent! There’s a great community of runners on wordpress so I’m sure you’ll find plenty of moral support.
      Following your blog now and looking forward to hearing about your progress. πŸ™‚

  5. artisticsharon says :

    Good for you Kirsten! Don’t worry so much about your pace/speed, I’m sure it will come back as you continue.

    I have an ‘off topic’ question: I’ve noticed on your side bar you have a count down to your next race (50K South Coast Challenge) – I can’t for the life of me figure out how to add one to my blog…any help you can lend would be appreciated. If you’d rather answer in email you can use stucker1261@gmail.com Thanks!!!

  6. dgobs says :

    I have the same issue with the treadmill- I think my legs are used to going whatever speeds they want and it varies from minute to minute, so going at one set pace is definitely a challenge. I hear it gets easier though! πŸ˜‰

  7. fisefton says :

    Running on the treadmil!?!? I used to like it before I started running regularly outside – I’m very much a fair-weather runner and hate the cold/rain. Now that I know how fast I can go outside, I don’t like the treadmill so much however I think I may need to get back on it for a while as the wind is so icy cold and strong here at the moment that apart from parkrun I’m not running.
    I have found though, that managing around 9k/hr on the treadmill is the same as about 10.5k/hr outside, for me. Intervals help, a lot, as does good music or good audio book – I’ve been listening to my personal development books whilst walking and running πŸ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yeah, I love running outdoors, but seem to have become a fair weather runner this year. Listening to Podcasts is pretty good too – especially if they are running related. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

