Treadmill Fun

I don’t know why, but the thought of playing with my new treadmill served as great motivation to start up the training plan again this evening.

No need to worry about how many layers to wear, whether or not I needed to go to the toilet beforehand or planning a well lit route to avoid being mugged or murdered – I just got changed, hopped on the treadmill and got the job done.

Well, sort of…

The first mistake I made was that I started the machine off way too fast and almost fell off the end of it; and the second was that when I used the hand rest to balance myself as I was getting ready to slow to my first walk break, I accidentally pressed the stop button which cancelled out the time and distance that I’d already completed.

But other than that, and the strange feeling of motion sickness when I struggled to find my land legs after it was all over, I quite enjoyed it. Not quite the same feeling of hardcore awesomeness you get from running in the wind and rain, but pretty satisfying nonetheless.

My time of 13 minutes for 1.8 kilometres wasn’t very impressive at all though, so either I’m very out of shape or the machine works in miles instead of kilometres… yeah, ok, it’s probably the former, but in my defence there were walk breaks involved.

How’s your training going? Are you running in the wind and rain or retreating to the treadmill? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Treadmill Fun”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    omg – yes, that sensation that you’re still moving after you get off the machine – I remember it well. I’ve been able to manage it by taking an extra long cool down walk on the treadmill at a VERY slow speed. It’s a little frustrating to walk so slowly but there’s no motion sickness when I get off. Good Job! Keep at it 🙂

  2. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    Excellent! I have very little experience on treadmills. When the weather is too inclement, I have my Mom’s mini-tramp that I run in place on. Lots of give for the knees, feet and back, but a little too bouncy in the boobs. What are you going to do; it’s always something! I’m still trying to get back into the workout routine and I say anything that motivates us is A-OK! For example, today I think I will be motivated to walk to my husband’s place of employment and make him drive me to a local liquor store for a wine tasting.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Exercise ending with alcohol sounds like good motivation. Perhaps I should try jogging to the pub? 😉

      • mohawkvalleygirl says :

        Not a bad thought. There are a few runs around here that actually involve alcohol, notably the Hangover Run on New Year’s Day. A friend told me about that one, and my hope is to participate next year. And there’s always the Utica Boilermaker that ends in beer.

      • theblogrunner says :

        Yeah, races with alcohol seem to be becoming a ‘thing’ in Europe too. Not sure I could handle wine instead of water stations though – I’m a bit of a light weight when it comes to alcohol. 😉

      • mohawkvalleygirl says :

        A friend in Germany did a lot of runs that involved whine. She’s a hard-core marathoner, though, not a shuffler of short distances like me.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

