A Birthday Treat

It’s my 42nd birthday today, so I decided to take the day off work and buy a treadmill. I’ve been thinking about it for a while now, so when I realised I’d saved enough money (including Christmas and birthday money) I decided to go for it.

It’s a Pro Fitness one from Argos and I have to say that I’m pretty impressed so far. Unlike the exercise bike I bought a year ago, it didn’t really need any self assembly – just unfold it, stick the safety thingy in and you’re good to go!

Having never used a treadmill before, other than when I was buying new running shoes, I wasn’t sure about the settings, so my first trial run was pretty slow – 1 mile in about 16 minutes, but that doesn’t really count as I was just testing it out. I’m sure I’ll get the hang off it though.

So, there really aren’t any excuses now – rain, wind, snow or even the unlikely possibility of too high temperatures, I can now run any time I feel like it… and even when I don’t!

Do you use a treadmill? How do you find it compares to running outside? Please share your thoughts in the comment.

 

Tags: ,

20 responses to “A Birthday Treat”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    Oh how KEWL! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! And what an amazing pressie to yourself!!!!

    I had a treadmill I named it Roger (it was a Roger Black Gold) πŸ™‚ omg I LOVED ROGER!!!! One day… I think I ran too long… Around 50minutes and his circuit board caught fire lololol!!!! Hubby thought THAT was hilarious!!!! I was devestated!!! R.I.P. Roger 😦

    Enjoy K ENJOY!!! It’s THE BEST thing in the world to have at home! I just totally zone out xxx

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Happy Birthday to you Kirsten!! What a great present to give yourself πŸ˜€

    There are some great suggested treadmill workouts on the internet, take your time finding one that works for you. Happy Running!!

  3. Keith says :

    Great idea. I’ve been planning to use the treadmills at the gym but my ITB is still playing up.

    Anyway happy birthday. I’m 42 on Monday! πŸ˜‰

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yeah, I figured I’d make more use of it than a gum membership – and probably works out cheaper over the year too.
      Sorry to hear you’re having ITB issues – I hope it sorts itself out and that you have a fab birthday on Monday. πŸ™‚

  4. madhat2014 says :

    Happy birthday!
    I much prefer running outdoors, but treadmills are good for setting a specific pace or incline. I tend to be faster on the treadmill (either that or it lies to me 😁)

  5. dgobs says :

    Happy birthday! I opt for the treadmill when it’s icy or otherwise gross outside, but I definitely prefer running outside. Enjoy your new toy! πŸ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. πŸ™‚
      I don’t mind the rain so much, but the wind has been crazy here these last few months so it has been difficult to get back to a routine. No excuses now though, and the novelty value of the new toy should help a bit too. πŸ˜‰

  6. Kerrie says :

    Happy belated birthday! Hope you enjoyed your day off! And enjoy that treadmill πŸ˜ŠπŸƒ

  7. ishouldrun says :

    Congrats on your treadmill! I love my treadmill! It feels better on my legs than running outside sometimes b/c where I live the roads/paths are beveled for water drainage. My treadmill is flat, of course, but also feels softer than the concrete outside. Plus mine came with a tv monitor that really helps with the boredom of 18 miles on a treadmill (like when it’s raining or I have to do a run at night). I hope you like using yours!

    • theblogrunner says :

      A TV on the treadmill? No wonder you love it! I did consider balancing my lap top on the dashboard so that I could watc Netflix, but at the moment I’m probably better off focusing on not falling off:-D
      I’d never thought about it being a softer running surface, but that does make sense.
      So far, I’m really enjoying it. Takes a bit of getting used to, but it does make it easier to fit a run in after work, and not having to worry about weather etc is a big bonus.

      • ishouldrun says :

        Treadmills help get all those runs in. I have never regretted mine. And yes, a TV on the treadmill! I could write a book on how much I am in love with the TV monitor-treadmill combo. Does that make me a high maintenance treadmill runner? I don’t care! I love it! πŸ™‚

  8. David M says :

    A belated happy birthday, and enjoy the treadmill. I love treadmill running and am a huge advocate of it, so I’m rather jealous!

  9. fisefton says :

    A belated happy birthday!
    Sometimes I think I’d love a treadmill but we don’t have the space. One day, when I get my dream house. Oh, I need to add that to my dream house wishlist – a home gym!
    Have fun learning to run on the treadmill x

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Fiona. Luckily I have a large living room so it hides (sort of) behind the couch. You can fold it up too, but I haven’t done that as I might forget to use it. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

