What Did I Do With My Head Torch?

Now that the clocks have gone back and the nights are drawing in, it’s becoming all too easy to come up with an excuse not to run. But not tonight.

I had planned to take my new favourite route around Hove Rec, but unfortunately the House Pixies seemed to have hidden my head torch. With unlit paths made even darker by the bushes and trees on either side, there was no way I was going to risk it, so I headed for the seafront instead for Week 4 Day 1 of Couch To 5K.

I did my usual seafront route, starting at Hove Lawns then down towards the Peace Statue, back up to the King Alfred Centre and then back to my starting point, plus a bit extra to let the time run down.

As I hadn’t run for over a week, I took it nice and slowly and was surprised by how easy it was – possibly because I was back on the flat again, but I’d like to think it’s because my fitness is improving too.

I covered 3K in 21:44, which is fine, but next time, I think I’ll push a bit harder and see if I can hit a 6 minute pace on the running sections.

How’s your training going? Do you avoid certain routes when running in the evening? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “What Did I Do With My Head Torch?”

  1. AndrewGills says :

    My running is going well. I’m up to C210K W10D1. I find it’s not as fun running the same old routes at home as it was running random places while traveling so I need to find a way to get some variety into my running now that I’m home. That will come though.

    • theblogrunner says :

      That’s brilliant! I need to check in with your blog and see where you’ve been. 🙂
      I quite like the same routes as it’s a good way of seeing progress, but adventures in new places are definitely more fun!
      Keep up the great work! 🙂

      • AndrewGills says :

        I haven’t been writing blogs about my running. I started to (even started a special running blog) but it was too much. I will keep blogging on Looking for 42 blog as things to blog about come up 🙂

      • theblogrunner says :

        Ah, ok. I’m following your blog so will drop by for a catch-up. 🙂 Are you still posting videos or was that more for your travels?

      • AndrewGills says :

        More for my travels. I’m not really into video as a medium for self expression. I prefer still photography and text

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    I like to run in the dark but even if it’s with hubby we wait till the traffics died down and we stick to the main well lit roads… On my own def town how main and roads it’s too dark and wild out here in Derbyshire lol!
    Is using a head torch best? I don’t have one you know…

    • theblogrunner says :

      I like running at night too, but some parts of my routes aren’t always lit – even on the seafront, not as wild as deepest darkest Derbyshire ;-), but there are some spots where they haven’t replaced the light bulbs, so you can’t see the ground in front of you for a couple of hundred metres. A head torch would definitely help there. If you’re running along roads, I guess it’s more about being seen by traffic though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

