I Should Probably Go For A Run

I hadn’t thought about running at all today, not until I was on my way home. I’d bumped into a colleague at the train station and she asked me (in the way that colleagues on the train often do) what I was doing this evening, and without evening thinking about it, the words were right there in front of me – I should probably go for a run.

And it was as simple as that. I had to run. If I didn’t, I would be a fake, a fraud, one of those people who talks about getting fit but never actually does anything about it. Someone who talks about doing and achieving great things but always finds an excuse not too see it through. And I didn’t want to be that person. Not today. So I did what had to be done.

As soon as I got home, I got changed and headed out. I didn’t even think about it. I couldn’t afford to. I had to get in and out as quickly as possible, move forward and get it done.

To be fair, it wasn’t a very long run. Week 3 Day 2 of Couch to 5K is two reps of 1:30 run, 1:30 walk, 3:00 run and 3:00 walk. As usual, I stopped the Garmin before the final walk break, making a very short session even shorter on paper. And it was slow too. But it was fine.

I can hold my head high at work tomorrow. The run got done.

How’s your training going? Does telling other people about your plans to go running help to motivate and keep you accountable? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “I Should Probably Go For A Run”

  1. ishouldrun says :

    I always think “I should run”, hence my blog title. 😉 It’s that feeling that you know what you need to do and what will ultimately make you feel good. We all know we should run but it’s the doing it that is really difficult at times. Congrats on getting out there! I know what you mean about getting your legs running before you overthink it.

  2. stephanieconsiglio says :

    I understand what you’re saying. That’s why I try to find people to meet up with or tell my friends so I am held accountable. If you talk about it out loud tell someone important to you you’re going to run then you feel more obligated to get out there. It’s about getting out there not how slow or fast you go. Good job!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

