Routine Stuff

One of the hardest things about getting back into training over the last few months has been my inability to get into a good routine. Lack of running aside, my life was fairly unstructured over the summer and, even though I had plenty of time to get out and run, I just never got around to it.

Ironically, now that I am working full time again, I seem more able to get it done. For some reason, it’s much easier for me to tag a quick run on to the end of a day at work than it is to have the whole day to think about it. But then again, maybe that’s been the problem. Me thinking about doing anything usually ends in procrastination.

So, this evening, when I got home from work, I quickly checked my emails, got changed and headed out for Week 2 Day 1 of Couch to 5K without giving it a second thought. Even when I opened the front door to a sudden downpour of ice cold rain, I didn’t hesitate. I just stepped out, switched on the Garmin and headed to Hove Rec for six reps of 90 seconds of running and two minutes of walking.

The rain only lasted for a few minutes, but it didn’t really bother me. I was wearing my waterproof running jacket and a baseball cap (keeps the rain off my glasses) so it would be bearable, and besides, I was only going to be out for about half an hour anyway.

The run itself went pretty well. I kept the pace fairly slow on the running sections and didn’t really notice the extra 30 seconds. So much so that I even managed an extra little run at the end so that I would finish back at my starting point.

As for the stats, 2.85 kilometres in 21:39 with an average pace of 7:36 per kilometre – pretty slow, I know, but the running sections were still under 6:00 per kilometre, which puts me on track for a sub-30 5K… if I don’t slow down too much as the weeks progress, that is.

How’s your training going? How do you fit your running into your general routine? Do you find it harder or easier to get a run in when your time is less structured? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Routine Stuff”

  1. stephanieconsiglio says :

    I need some decent structure as well. I usually tack on my run at the end of the day, but I’ve been trying to wake up early and just get it done. I have to pretty much get up at 4:15 am to fit in a 8 miler. Sometimes I hate having to run in the afternoon when I just want to meet up with friends and such, but if you have meets up planned in the evening that always helps. I found that was more likely to run when I had a couple of meet ups planned trhoughout the week
    When I work from home I have the luxury of going whenever I want and its nice to get a running break from work in the middle of the day. The office I don’t get that luxury. So I guess I”m in the middle. Sorry for the long winded comment lol. I think i would rather have the luxury of going on my time and not because I have a work schedule.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! That makes sense. I think part of my problem is that I hate running in the middle of the day (too many people around). When I was working from home, I’d always try to get my work done early with the intention of going for a run later, but then never seemed to find a natural break in the evening to get out there.

      • stephanieconsiglio says :

        yeah that’s why I love running in the early mornings because its so peaceful and quiet. But I have to be at work at 7 am and it would require me to get up at 4 am for a decent run. Schedules man they kill ya.

  2. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    Good job! I might follow your lead and go back to the Couch to 5k just while the knee is playing up. Does it fit quite nicely into the routine? Also, totally hear you in relation to wearing your glasses, the rain and getting warm. It’s a whole load of misting up and not being able to see! Definitely an encouraging blog πŸ™‚

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. It seems to be working ok, for the most part. C25K is definitely helping as it gives me a schedule that I have to stick to – if I miss a session, I know I’ll fall behind if I don’t pick it up again, so that helps too.
      I hope your knee is doing ok. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

