Week One Done

Ok, so I’m a day late in completing Week 1 of Couch to 5K, but it’s only a day, right?

Frustrating as it is to be back running stupidly short intervals, it is nice to be running again, so I decided that I would use one of my Week 1 Couch to 5K runs for this month’s 2K Bonus Race for Virtual Running UK. I haven’t logged any results on there for a while so I needed the points and besides, the medal is pretty cool!

2K Virtual Race Medal

2K Virtual Race Medal

It was a bit grimy outside this evening, with the rain drizzling on and off all day, so I decided to avoid the seafront and head for Hove Rec instead. The paths around the rugby pitch were predictably quiet, with just a couple of dog walkers and people cutting through on their way home from work, so I didn’t have to dodge anyone.

I was, however, slowed down a bit by the leaves that have just started to fall on the path. Soggy leaves on wet tarmac aren’t great for running on, but luckily I survived unscathed and managed to complete 2.7 kilometres in about 21 minutes.

After looking at my stats, it was pretty clear that this run wasn’t as good as the last one, so I’ll use Saturday’s for my virtual race. 15:19 for the first 2K as opposed to today’s 15:41.

I plan to try to get up to 3K with this week’s sessions as there’s a 3K Virtual Race this month too and the medal for that one a massive 7cm in diameter, so it would be rude not to have one.

3K Virtual Race Medal

3K Virtual Race Medal

How’s your training going? How do you keep yourself motivated when the training is slow? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Week One Done”

  1. saulbee says :

    Well done, getting out there is always a positive move, and bling is a great training incentive.

  2. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    Good job! Glad to hear it went alright and the medals are awesome!

  3. fisefton says :

    Well done for getting out there in this horrible weather. Adam and I got out this afternoon after college and managed to fit in a 9k interval run before the heavens opened and it chucked down with rain.
    I love that 2k medal. I may have to enter myself, or Adam, into a 2k race just to get one 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

