C25K W1 D1 (again)

Today was the first day of my return to training with Couch to 5K. I had planned to do Week 1 Day 1 when I got home from work and, while I was a bit concerned about how I would be able to handle any kind of running after my ‘on and off’ periods over the last few months, I was really looking forward to getting started again.

Of course, old habits die hard, so when it came to actually getting myself out the front door, I was confronted by the all too familiar voice in my head telling me You’re feeling kind of tired, maybe you should wait until tomorrow… one more day won’t make a difference.

Thankfully, there was also another familiar voice there to remind me to ignore the first one and don’t think about it; just do it. So that’s what I did.

I switched off my brain, got myself changed and before I knew it I was heading to the seafront for a nice easy run/walk along the promenade – 8 reps of 60 seconds running and 90 seconds walking. That should be do-able, right? Even with my current fitness level, I should be able to manage 60 seconds. Shouldn’t I?

Despite my concerns, the run went pretty well. I started off fairly slowly for the first running segment and, even though I was a bit more out of breath than I should have been, it felt good. For the second running segment, I tried picking up the pace a bit more. Again, it felt ok, so I decided to continue trying to pick things up a notch for the third, fourth, fifth and so on, until the final run when my legs finally started to feel tired and I had to ease off again.

In the end, I covered just over 2.5K in 18:30 (I didn’t bother timing the final walk segment) and was surprised to see that I kept most of the runs under a pace of 6 minutes per kilometre, with the penultimate run under 5 minutes per kilometre – not a pace that I could sustain for more than one minute at a time right now, but a very pleasing start nonetheless.

Session 2 will be tomorrow. I can’t wait!

How’s your training going? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “C25K W1 D1 (again)”

  1. Kerrie says :

    Good on you for getting out the door. Sometimes it’s the hardest part!

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Yay so glad you listened to that second voice! Reading your post I can feel the old motivation starting to fire up…whoopeee!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

