A Month Off

Circle HopWith September almost at an end, I was a bit shocked to realise that it I haven’t run at all this month. It wasn’t something that I had planned for. In fact, my plan was to finish up my adapted C25K program be running 5K again by mid-October. But it didn’t happen, and I’m fine with that.

When it comes to training, I’m usually pretty focussed, and even obsessive about making sure I stay on track. Even when I miss a few sessions or don’t quite hit my targets, I still manage to put a positive spin on it, reassess what needs to be done, and get moving again. But this month I just wasn’t  feeling it.

To be honest, I haven’t really been feeling it since April. There was the longer than expected post-marathon recovery, the niggles that just wouldn’t seem to settle and the fact that my employment situation has been (and still is) in a state of transition since May probably didn’t help.

In saying that, having a month off hasn’t been a bad thing. It has given me the chance to relax, recover and reassess a few things. And it has made me realise just how much I want to run again.

So, with the final quarter of the year approaching, October is going to be a new beginning for me. I’m going to re-launch myself into Couch to 5K and this time I’m going to do it properly. No adapting the ratios, no short cuts with the walk breaks and, most importantly, no pressure to get to 5K before I’m ready.

After all, this running lark is supposed to be about having fun, so that’s what I’m going to do.

How’s your training going? Have you taken an extended break from running? How to you get yourself back on track again? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

This post is part of the Virtual Running UK Blog hop. Click here to find out more and join the fun!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “A Month Off”

  1. Keith says :

    I know exactly how you feel. I’ve been beating myself up for not running but not put in the same amount of effort or will to get out there. This is why I’ve ended up having some breaks. That and problems with time and my knee have all meant a short set of breaks that weren’t planned.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Sorry to hear your knee isn’t so good Keith. I’m usually pretty good when it comes to pushing myself when I don’t feel like it, but you’re right – sometimes the will just isn’t there and a break is needed. Hope you’re on the mend soon. x

  2. spudgt2 says :

    I’m 3 weeks in and no running. On a rest from a race I did at the start of September. I’ve had my fair share of injuries and seem to go from one to an other. Having total rest is one thing but I’ve found active rest is sometimes better. Stretching and strengthening also helps. Good luck on getting back to it.

  3. artisticsharon says :

    It’s so funny – I was just thinking last night “I haven’t seen any posts from Kirsten in a while” and here you are!
    My running has been very sporadic lately…I’m just not ‘feeling it’ either right now. I think it’s because I don’t have any races lined up with my running buddies – running with a group really helps ME stay on track. I’ve got a big vacation planned in Oct and I hope to get back to a more stable routine after that and I’ll be starting over with C25K as well 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      Your thoughts must have reached me in the early hours of this morning… how spooky… Some kind of trans-Atlantic kick up the backside vibes, perhaps? 😉
      I feel much more motivated now that I’ve had a break, so I reckon it was a good call in the end. I’m sure you’ll feel ready for C25K again after your big vacation too. Enjoy your time off! 🙂 xx

  4. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I am having trouble getting back into running, too. Community theatre commitments, health problems, general malaise… It helps to see that everybody else isn’t out there putting in miles and miles every day! It sounds like you have a good plan, especially remembering that running is supposed to be fun. Rock on!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yeah, life does get in the way sometimes… One of the reasons I stay away from the blog when I’m not running is that I feel guilty when I see how much running everyone else is doing – sometimes we just need to give ourselves a pass for a while.
      I’m sure we’ll find our way back to running soon enough though. I hope you’re doing ok. xx

  5. willbfit says :

    I think everyone takes a moment in their running plans when they need to take a break. And you’re right more often than not it helps us realize how much we enjoy the activity and helps us reassess our running plans. My son and I have recently started the couch to five k program. He wants to run the turkey trot this year. Since he works second shift, he doesn’t get out of work until midnight. So two or of three weekly runs we do at twelve thirty in the morning. I slow my pace to keep with him and you know what? Not worrying about going faster, or trying to run the entire way has made me fall in love with running all over again. Running at midnight is WONDERFUL! It’s so peaceful, and the night is so beautiful. Bonus…time spent with my son. Let’s enjoy this last part of the year, my friend! Good luck with your training!

    • theblogrunner says :

      That’s great that you’re enjoying running again, and with your son too. I’m sure you’re doing great job keeping each other motivated, and running at midnight does sound lovely!
      Have a fab weekend and keep up the great work! 🙂 xx

  6. dgobs says :

    I derailed from C25K too! I had grand plans to finish off C25K and transition into 10K training, since I have a race scheduled in a little over a month. Vacation got in my way, as did an injury I picked up while on vacation. Looks like I’ll be starting over again too!

  7. stephanieconsiglio says :

    It’s nice to know there are other that take breaks that may seems like forever, but there’s always a reason for them. Sometimes I feel sooooo guilty for doing it because I’m pretty obsessive too, but sometimes life gets in the way or you just need a break. Fall is a new season and I’m sure you’re going to kill it!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

