The Training Plan Shuffle

Despite having signed up for a race to keep myself motivated with the old training plan, I seem to fallen behind again. Yesterday should have been Week 5 Day 1 of my modified C25K plan, but it all went to pot when I got distracted after work and didn’t leave myself enough time to get a run in.

With a 20 minute session on the exercise bike planned for this evening, that meant I would have to make a choice: do the exercise bike session and put myself one run behind; or do the run and skip the bike altogether. It was a tough decision, not helped by the fact that it was raining when I got home.

Deep down though, I knew that there really was only one option. The whole point of the exercise bike is to compliment the running, not the other way round, so I pushed myself out the door and into the drizzle for a 25 minute session using a 5:2 run/walk ratio. And I was glad that I did.

I found the ratio fairly challenging, particularly for the first two segments, but once I got into the second half of the session I started to really enjoy it and remembered how much I love to run in the rain! Seriously, give me cool damp drizzle over blue skies and sunshine any day of the week – well, any training day of the week at least.

In terms of the rest of this week, I am supposed to be running tomorrow and Saturday. However, I could probably get away with adapting things so that I do the exercise bike tomorrow and then run on Friday and Sunday instead. That would mean that I have to skip park run again this week, but that might not be a bad thing.

My weekend run will be my first non-stop 20 minutes in I don’t know how long, so pacing will be crucial and, let’s face it, I usually get carried away with myself at parkrun and end up going too fast. Not great when you’re trying to run slowly!

I guess I’ll see how it goes, but it could turn out that missing yesterday’s session and re-shuffling the schedule might not be such a bad thing. These things happen for a reason, so maybe that’s it. We shall see…

How’s your training going? Are you getting your sessions in this week? Please share your thoughts in the comments

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “The Training Plan Shuffle”

  1. The Dude Run Run says :

    Sometimes a shuffle here or there turns out for the best.

  2. Kerrie says :

    Go you for getting out there in the rain! I shuffle often. However august has been a horrible month for running! 🏃

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

