Phantom Poop

Circle Hop

This post is part of the Virtual Running Uk Weekly Blog Hop. Click the badge to find out more…

Is it just me or does anyone else suffer from the Phantom Poop when you are out for a run? It hasn’t happened to me for a long time, but then I haven’t really been doing that much running recently, but today the Phantom Poop decided to rear it’s little head while I was out for my morning run.

According to my training plan, I should have run yesterday, and had every intention of doing so, with some slight C25K tweaking for the purposes of parkrun. But it didn’t happen. I woke up with a bit of a dodgy stomach on account of eating too much fruit on Friday – not that I’m particularly into healthy eating, but fruit takes zero preparation and I couldn’t be bothered to cook.

Anyway, this morning my stomach seemed to be back to normal so I headed down to the seafront for the session that I should have done yesterday. I wasn’t going to worry about doing 5K though. As long as I got four five minute running segments in with my 5:2 ratio, I would be happy – I also needed to do an Insanity workout today to stay on track so I didn’t want to over do it this morning.

So, I headed off at a nice slow pace, enjoying the early morning peace, quiet and sunshine of the promenade. But after about three minutes I started to feel the need to go to the toilet. It wasn’t urgent but it was definitely there, so I decided I’d hold on and see how it went. I pass the public toilets twice on my route so I could pop in then if I had to. It wouldn’t be a problem.

After the first five minutes of running, the need to go seemed to pass, but once I started running again it came back. Fortunately, I finished my second running section just as I was approaching the toilets so I decided to pause the Garmin and sort it out.

Needless to say, however, now that I wasn’t running I didn’t feel the need to go any more so I decided to carry on and ignore it.

Thankfully, other than a bit of minor discomfort, the run itself was fairly uneventful and I finished the final running section at 3.6K in just over 25 minutes. And I made it home without incident for a nice strong post-run coffee in my favourite morning coffee mug – Turtle Power indeed!*

IMG_2680

*Sorry, but I couldn’t resist that one.

How’s your training going? Have you encountered the Phantom Poop on your morning run… or is it really just me? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “Phantom Poop”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    Haaahahaaaha!!! Farrrr too much information 😆

  2. saulbee says :

    Love the joke. One day I shall own a tortoise and I shall name him head!
    In other news, yup phantom poop on long runs, and the farts. Most scary is a combination of the two.

  3. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    YES, I have had this problem! I have narrated about it in my head as I ran but never quite wanted to put it in the blog post. I have no public facilities on my usual route, but once a miraculous porta-potty at a construction site came to my rescue with a pee issue (that one I wrote a blog post about). Just to tell you more than you wanted to know, once it was not phantom but I luckily made it home and to the toilet in time!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Not just me then…. The worst bit is trying to figure a pace that will get you home in time without making matters worse! Luckily I made it home safely that time too. 😉

  4. Kerrie says :

    Just to say, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster https://kerrieisrunning.wordpress.com/2015/08/17/that-leibster-award/

    And yeah I know that feeling….apparently its common with runners…apparently…

    • theblogrunner says :

      HaHa! Apparently…? Well, at least I know it’s not just me. 😉
      And thank you for the Liebster. I’ll drop by and pick it up shortly 🙂 x

      • Kerrie says :

        Yeah apparently haha. According to some long runs (actual running not toilet runs haha, sorry!!) The body does many things and as a reaction, we poo.

      • theblogrunner says :

        Hmm… So because I felt like I was doing a long run (even though it was less than 4K), I also felt like I was having ‘long runs’ (but it was just the Phantom)? All makes perfect sense sense now. 😉

      • Kerrie says :

        Haha yeah its not making sense now haha.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

