Getting Back To A Routine

My routine has been all over the place recently, not just with running but with life in general. I’m not complaining though. It has been good to change things up a bit, but when it comes down to it, I guess I like to have a plan – particularly when it comes to training.

So, last week I decided to re-write my training plan, starting from C25K Week 4, or thereabouts.

The problem I find with the middle part of C25K is that the run/walk segments can vary in a single session. For example, today’s session was walk 90 seconds, jog 5 mins, walk 2.5 mins, jog 3 mins, walk 90 seconds, jog 5 mins, which is fine if you want to use the app as it tells you when to run and when to walk. However, I prefer to use my GymBoss as I don’t like having my iPod strapped to my arm when I’m running, which makes programming the segments a bit trickier.

In the end, I decided to just adapt the workout and use a 3.5:1.5 ratio – 3.5 minutes running and 1.5 minutes walking. I realise that I should be able to run for 5 minutes this week, so I’m going to up the ratio slightly so that I use a 4:1.5 ratio on Thursday and a 5:2 ratio for parkrun on Saturday, which should get me to where I need to be.

In terms of this evening’s run, I felt pretty good. The ratio was fine and having the extra 30 seconds of walking probably helped a bit too, In the end, I completed 3.4K is 23:30, which is pretty slow but I felt good at the end of it so I’m happy with that for now.

How’s your training going? Do you stick to your training plan or adapt and tweak things as you go. Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Getting Back To A Routine”

  1. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I adapt as I go, but I never have a really detailed plan to begin with. I must, in fact, make a new plan as I have not been running at all. But two of the most beautiful words I know are “Begin again.” Glad to hear you’re running and enjoying it. My fellow bloggers inspire me. Now, to act on the inspiration…

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    I NEVER have a plan whenit comes to my running… the rest of my life is SO structured that my running, for me is MY TIME, no stress, no plan, just pure ‘me time’. Everyone is different and just do what make you feel good… I woek with a bunch of FIT girls, they are always out running together, have a shedule etc… but the stress and pressure to keep up makes it unejoyable for me… I think you are great and you do really well and you ARE motivational and inspirational… just keep doing it and your mojo will come flying back!

  3. AndrewGills says :

    I just carry my phone in my hand hoping not to drop it. If I didn’t use the app I wouldn’t stick to the program. But I am too tight to buy one of those arm bands (I spend all my money on travel … Haha). I’m up to Week 1 Day 3. I am en route to Indonesia today but will try to get my run in this evening after a sleep at our hotel. Java is not the most conducive place for running but I am determined to get fit again

  4. Hayley says :

    I don’t think I could adapt my training at the moment, I just stick to what I’m being told to do. I’m sure once I’m more confident and actually know what I’m doing I’ll change it up!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

