A Cure For Lazyitis

I seem to have been suffering from a particularly debilitating strain of Lazyitis over the last week or so, although it had been coming on for a while. I’d been making the usual excuses for delaying my training… it’s too hot… it’s too windy… it’s too much hassle to program the GymBoss for those weird C25K intervals and I really don’t want to strap my iPod to my arm…

Fortunately, someone from the Virtual Running community reminded me that there is a very simple cure for this particular affliction – a firm kick up the backside twice a day, preferably before meals.

So, straight after work and just before tea time, I decided to head out for what can only be described as a bit of a run – although I do take some poetic licence with the use of the word ‘run’.

As I really did mean the whole thing about the GymBoss and strapping the iPod to my arm, I decided to adapt Week 3 of Couch to 5K and run for 20 minutes using a 3:1 ratio. To be fair, this was a bit more challenging than the C25K workout, so I was fairly pleased that I managed to stick to it until the final running segment. By that point, the wind was killing my lungs so I took an early walk break and improvised the rest in order to complete the 20 minutes.

In the end, I managed to cover 2.82 kilometres, which isn’t much (I know) but it’s better than nothing. And, more importantly, it puts me back on track to get back up to running 5K again.

How’s your training going? Do you suffer from lazyitis or other debilitating run avoidance conditions? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “A Cure For Lazyitis”

  1. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    It’s great that you got out there! Regarding the term “run,” I often think that what I do is running only by a generous definition of the word. Then again, I seem to remember starting to read James Fixx’s famous book on running (whose title escapes me and I never finished, which just goes to show you about me), and he said it was all running. Must finish that book sometime.

  2. Sam says :

    Motion is a good cure for the lazyitis, well done on the run!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sam. I’d forgotten that if you keep putting one foot in front of the other, eventually you get a bit of momentum going… well, that’s what I’m hoping for anyway. 😉

  3. dgobs says :

    Lazyitis sure sounds familiar… *sheepish face* Way to get out there and beat it! 🙂 I’m working my way through Couch to 5K at the moment too, though I’ve had my own debilitating run avoidance conditions to battle too!

  4. CeeJayKay says :

    🙂 you make me smile, thank you! You got out there and that is so kewl! Come and join me on #workitout100 challenge! its what is motivating me at the moment… and i am LOVING it!

  5. artisticsharon says :

    I know how hard it is getting out the door…I battle that demon all the time and this week it’s winning 😦 I can blame the hot, humid weather but that really shouldn’t stop me. It’s great you got out there…IT ALL COUNTS!!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. It definitely counts. 🙂
      Getting out the door is the hardest part for me, although I don’t have the heat and humidity that you do, so I shouldn’t really complain. I hope things cool down a bit and you get the chance to run this weekend. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

