Parkrun Fun

Circle HopToday is parkrun day, but instead of doing my usual marshalling duties, I decided to run instead… well, run/walk at least.

It has been a while since I’ve done a 5K, so I decided to use a 3:1 run/walk ratio in the knowledge that I’d probably have to adjust it at some point during the run. It was going to be slow, but I didn’t mind and figured that I’d be happy if I could complete the course in under 35 minutes.

It had been raining overnight so it was still quite cool when I headed to the promenade. There was a good breeze (but not too strong) and the sun was out, so the conditions were pretty good for running on the seafront.

The Hove Prom parkrun is a lot quieter than the other two in the city, which meant a pretty quick start. Usually I find myself walking a bit to let the crowd thin out a bit, but today I was off and running right away.

As is often the case when running in a group, I started off faster than I should have. Even though I stuck to the 3:1 ratio, I completed the first kilometre in 6:03, which I knew wasn’t sustainable. The payback came shortly after 2K, when I found myself dropping the ratio and picking up walk breaks every 60 to 90 seconds. This helped me get back on track for the final 2 kilometres and, even though I never quite got back to running 3:1, I did manage to get back on pace again and finished in just under 34 minutes.

According to the Garmin, I completed the course in 33:55; but parkrun says 33:53, so there’s not much in it. Either way, I’m happy with the result and am looking forward to being able to get back to parkrunning again on a more regular basis.

How’s your running going? Did you do parkrun today? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Parkrun Fun”

  1. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    Well done you on the run/walk! How did you feel? You did really good! I do love a good Parkrun but haven’t been in a few weeks. How did you feel afterwards? Was it painful or not too bad? Hope you’re ok!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks. 🙂 I felt really good afterwards – just a bit niggly but no real problems. Did a lot for my confidence too so will probably do another one again soon.
      I hope all is good with you too. 🙂

  2. Kerrie says :

    Go you! I love parkrun but because of work its a rarity! Unless my shift get pushed back or I’m on holiday in don’t think I’d have time to part take.

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

