I’m On It!

2015-07-22I didn’t manage to make it out for my 2nd run of C25K yesterday, but don’t worry, I’m on it. I went out this morning instead.

Part of me was thinking that I might just move on to Week 3, but I decided against it for a couple of reasons. Firstly, I’ve only completed two sessions so far (one from Week 1 and one from Week 2), so I didn’t want to push too hard too soon; and secondly, I didn’t want to delay the run by thinking too much about it beforehand, so it made sense to just switch off the brain and get going.

I headed to Hove Rec again, mostly because it’s a bit closer than the seafront, but also because it has some gentle inclines which I figure is probably good for strengthening the old achilles – thankfully that’s one thing that hasn’t given me too many problems recently. I still have to be careful with it, but so far it’s doing ok.

The run itself was slow and steady. I used the same 90 second intervals as before and it felt pretty good, so I’ll probably step up to Week 3 next time.

In saying that though, my next run is most likely going to be parkrun on Saturday. I know I said I would just be volunteering  throughout the summer, but a local running group have offered to cover all the roles this week so it would be rude not to take advantage of the opportunity to try out the new course.

I’m not sure yet what my strategy will be for parkrun as I know my leg won’t cope with running the full 5K without walk breaks. Perhaps I’ll go back to my favourite 3:1 ratio, or maybe I’ll just play it by ear? Who knows? But it will be nice to take part in an event again.

How’s your training going? Are you following a training plan or just running for fun? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “I’m On It!”

  1. Cynthia says :

    I continue to be inspired reading your posts – by your tenacity in not giving up and by your open mindedness to whatever strategy works. Thanks!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Cynthia. One of the things I love about this blogging community is the way that everyone encourages, inspires and helps to motivate each other – not sure if I’d still be running without it. I hope you’re having a great weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

