Back To Basics

My running has slumped quite a bit over the last couple of months, so I’ve made a decision. Instead of pushing myself to get back to where I left off (and then feeling frustrated at my decline in fitness) I’ve decided to take it back to basics and re-do Couch To 5K.

I know I probably don’t need to go right the way back to the start, but I’m going to anyway for a couple of reasons. Firstly, starting at a point that I know I can achieve fairly easily will help to build up my confidence again; secondly, it will give me a routine that I know I can stick to without worrying about over training or injuring myself again; and thirdly, doing the shorter faster sessions in the first few weeks will help with building up my pace so that (hopefully) I’ll be able to achieve that elusive sub-30 that I’ve been dreaming of for so long.

I plan to run on Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday each week so that I can volunteer for parkrun on Saturday mornings, which will be another great motivator to help keep me on track.

Talking of parkrun, this morning was the inaugural Hove Prom parkrun, which means that we now have three parkrun events in our little city. I used to go to parkrun fairly regularly but haven’t been in over a year, so when I heard that there was going to be a new event on my favourite route I figured it would be rude not to get involved.

Hove Prom 01

Although I wasn’t running this morning, I signed up to volunteer. My job for today was marshalling, which is really easy and a lot of fun as you get to clap and cheer and encourage all of the runners as they pass – although sometimes it is difficult to differentiate between the parkrunners and people who just happen to be out running along the seafront. Still, I don’t think anyone minded being clapped and cheered on their morning run.

Hove Prom 02

The weather was great too, which probably contributed to the high turnout – 294 runners, which is pretty amazing for an inaugural run! It will be interesting to see how the numbers pan out over the next few weeks. I’m sure there were a lot of people from our other local parkruns who came along to support, but if it stays as warm and sunny as it is now, this could prove to be a popular event for the summer at least.

While I am excited about running the route, I’ll probably stick to marshalling for the first few weeks at least until I get back to running 5K again. And, as I said, volunteering is a lot of fun and it’s a nice way to give something back to the community.

How’s your running going? What strategies do you used to bring yourself out of a slump? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Back To Basics”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Hey Kirsten, I’ve also been slacking a bit on my running plan. It’s been terribly hot & humid here (100 degrees and 70% humidity) so I’ve just not been running. The 4 miler I did last weekend kicked my rear so I think starting over is a great idea…actually I was just thinking about that last night! Volunteering is another wonderful idea to help keep motivation up…I may look into that as well.

    I skipped my normal Saturday run with my buddies today for two reasons…heat/humidity and watching Ladies Championship Match at Wimbledon!…Go Serena!

    • theblogrunner says :

      I don’t blame you for not running in the humidity – I don’t think I’d even want to walk in it! Staying in the cool and watching Wimbledon is definitely a much more civilised idea. 😉
      I think doing C25K again will be a better option in the heat too, and at least it means you still get to go out for a bit of a run. 🙂

  2. Kerrie says :

    I like you’re thinking. I may even follow and do the first few weeks of c25k to get that pace going. I love your thinking!

    Hope you’re well 🙂 & enjoyed Parkrun 🙂

  3. CeeJayKay says :

    Babes what a plan!!!! I think I’m going to join you! Back to C25k is a GREAT plan!!!! I have slacked on the running too… Kept up with the walking doing distances but very little running… The heat, visitors, and travel over the last three months have been exhausting! RIGHT! That’s it then back to C25k… Let’s DO THIS!!!! I will do mine MW&F cos Thurs I go to yoga and Tues is well… My ‘nada’ day lol!
    Cheers babes see ya on the other side!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Great stuff CeeJay! So, that’s you, me and possibly Sharon and Kerrie? – make sure you follow them too and we can keep each other on track. I’m starting tomorrow morning before the sun gets too hot again. Have a great weekend! 🙂

  4. dgobs says :

    I’ve been considering redoing C25K too! It seems like a smart way to ease back in after so much time out injured, and I like your point about the shorter sessions being good confidence boosters 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      I did my first C25K run yesterday and it really did feel good to be running again and just having fun with it. Don’t get me wrong, it was still hard at times after so much time out, but it felt great to have go for a run that I knew I could complete – definitely good for the confidence! 🙂

  5. kylabee says :

    I am doing the same. After I finished marathon training in May I didn’t know what to do with myself after the race and how to run without a schedule. I decided to start back with the marathon schedule and stick with the days that I used to run. It seems to be working for me so far and I am happy for that. I wrote a post about it called “I feel like a fish out of water.”
    I like the way you are getting back into running. Seems like the best route for a lot of us. We like routine. 🙂
    Happy running!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

