3K – No Walking!

I’ve not been doing too well this week with my resolve to run three times a week. I keep thinking about it, putting it off and promising to go later, but later never comes. The root of the problem, it seems, is thinking about it.

Take this morning for example. I woke up and my brain said ‘you’re awake nice and early – go for a run!’; but then I started thinking about it, which made me think of other things and I ended up checking my email instead. And, as generally happens when I start the day by checking email, the day was gone in a flash.

I felt pretty bad about it, to be honest. I really want to get back to running without walk breaks, but to do that I need to practise and get into a regular routine, otherwise I’ll just keep going backwards, which isn’t much fun.

So, this evening, once I’d finished work for the day, I decided that I had to go for a run if I was going to get three in this week. I didn’t think about it either. I just got changed and got myself out the door. Simple as that!

It wasn’t until I was half way to the seafront that I started to plan my run. This week, I’d hoped to be running 3.5K without walk breaks, but as I’d only managed 2.3 last week (should have been 3) I decided that I would be happy with anything more than that, and run/walk the rest to make the 3K or maybe 3.5 if I felt like it. We’d see – this is me not thinking about it!

The breeze was pretty warm down on the promenade, but it was comfortable enough to run nice and slowly. I wasn’t worried at all about picking up the pace; if anything I made myself back off to make sure that I could beat last week’s distance.

Surprisingly, as I approached 2.3, I felt pretty good. Yes, it was hot. Yes, I was sweating like crazy. And yes, I did almost choke on my water while I was running. But I felt ok. As I passed 2.5, I even considered the possibility of going for 3.5; but when I reached 3K I knew I’d had enough and decided to stop there.

Even though it was after 6:30 in the evening, the sun was still pretty strong, so I headed for some nice shaded side streets and made my way back home.

I realise that if I’m going to get my three runs in this week, I’m going to have to do two days back to back. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll make it out of bed and out the door before my brain kicks in? Here’s hoping!

How’s your training going? What strategies do you use to get yourself out the door. Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

25 responses to “3K – No Walking!”

  1. Movin' it with Michelle says :

    You’re doing great! I run in the evening too, during the week, so it makes it a bit more challenging with the heat for sure.

  2. Hannah says :

    Yay, you got out and beat the distance from last week:-)
    Totally understand the ‘thinking about it makes it go away’ problem! This eve I did the same; finished work at 20:00, just changed and ran home instead of thinking what route I could follow if I cycled home or what I would do tomorrow (run back to work) or whether my running outfit matched or or or or…and I arrived at home hot and tired and happy:-) You can do tomorrow too!

  3. LeAnn Cady says :

    I overthink things too much, as well. Schedule your run sessions, just like you would schedule anything else. Take away the excuses by having your running clothes/shoes ready, along with what you’re going to fuel your body with before your run. Tell yourself that you’re going to get out that door, even if it means walking or cutting the run short — just that you’re going to start. What I find is that the times I am least looking forward to it are often the best runs. Likely, you will feel motivated and energized when your body awakes and warms up. Tuning into some great music often is what keeps me running. Good luck, Blog Runner! I have a new reason to run and train for a marathon now, check out my new blog format! See you online!

    • theblogrunner says :

      So true! Thanks LeAnn. 🙂
      I dropped by your blog the other day and saw that you have given it a makeover – it looks fantastic! And an exciting new chapter for you and your son too. I’ll pop by for a proper catch-up soon. 🙂 x

  4. Kerrie says :

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that chokes on water… 😉 🙂

    I just go with the flow. Since the c25k I haven’t had a plan to follow…which often I believe is a bad thing. Depends on the day depends on what I ask of myself when I go out – I plan my days since I don’t like back to back runs and I’m always aiming for 10 mile weeks so if I’m not feeling that much up to it I’m sure 2 miles would be okay for the day…

    • theblogrunner says :

      Going with the flow sounds like a good idea. I generally have a bit of a plan, but it always ends up changing somehow – but any miles are better than none, right? 😉

  5. Sam says :

    I find thinking is my enemy .. if I just get up and go I am much more productive, mostly cause I don’t wake up until I am halfway through the run!!

  6. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    You are SO RIGHT about not thinking about it! I am quite ingenious at thinking of good reasons not to run right now. I’ve managed three days in a row this week (plus Sunday). My 15K is a month and a day away. Yikes!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Yes, my favourite reason was always ‘I’m older so I need more rest days to recover’, but I think four rest days might be pushing it. 😉
      That’s exciting that you’re doing a 15K! I’m sure you’ll be more than ready for it when the time comes. 🙂

      • mohawkvalleygirl says :

        I do best if I walk on my recovery days. Regarding the 15K… don’t know, but the entire city of Utica plus the surrounding area turns out to cheer us on, so I should be able to keep going.

      • theblogrunner says :

        I’m sure you’ll do brilliantly! Sounds like it’s going to be a great atmosphere too – Enjoy it! 🙂

  7. osarah26 says :

    I’m bad with finding motivation in the heat as well- it was unbearable today! Good for you for finding it in you to get out there. Once I’m in my gear, I’m more likely to get my butt in gear.

  8. boscia.mara says :

    Ciao, mai rimandare! Bisogna stabilire i giorni e poi andare, senza pensarci troppo 😉

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ciao. Esattamente ! Non sempre stick per i giorni che ho in programma , ma sto cercando di correre almeno tre volte a settimana .
      Ci dispiace il mio italiano non è molto buono – ci proverò comunque . 😉

  9. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    Good job! You’re doing well 🙂 it’s hard to pull yourself out sometimes & do your run. You should be proud 🙂 well done!

  10. artisticsharon says :

    Well done Kirsten! I ‘thought my way out of running’ yesterday…it was too hot, too sunny, too early, too late…ARGH! No excuses tomorrow – I’m doing at least 3 miles, hopefully 4 😉

  11. Cat says :

    well done on the distance! I’ve known people to wear their training gear to bed so all they have to do in the morning is put on their shoes LOL

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

