Two Down…

I managed to get another run in this evening. That’s two down and one to go for this week if I’m going to get my three runs in, so I’m feeling pretty good about getting back into training.

Of course, it was only 3K and I took a bit of a walk break at 2.3, mostly for water but also because I’m just not as fit as I was. Still, I only walked for about 100 metres and then ran the rest, so it’s a bit of an improvement on the last one.

I’m really not putting any pressure on myself at the moment though as far as running is concerned. Yes, I want to run faster and without stopping like I used to, but I know it will come as long as I get out three times a week and do a little bit more each time. Patience!

I’ve also decided to start taking exercise other than running to try to help with my general fitness. I got an exercise bike before Christmas, which I really ought to start using more, but I also need to do something for my core and upper body strength.

So, the other night when I was procrastinating on You Tube (as we do!) I came across ‘Insanity Max 30’. As far as I can tell, it’s basically just an exercise program that you can buy, but they also have some free videos that you can use on You Tube. There’s a playlist with a few different videos on there, so I just chose one at random and decided to have a go.

To be fair, I wasn’t jumping around half as much as the people on the video and some of the moves they were doing were completely beyond me, but I gave it a go nonetheless. If you watch the video below, there’s a woman on the right of the screen who adapts the workout to make it a bit easier for those of us who aren’t quite there yet… or in my case, nowhere near there yet!

Anyway, I gave it my best shot and was absolutely drenched and exhausted by the end of it, but I felt great! Definitely much more fun than yoga (which I just don’ t have the patience for) and something that I would be happy to do a couple of times a week – although I might watch more of the videos first and choose one that has some easier moves than this!

How’s your training going? Have you tried Insanity or other workout videos? Do you find they help you with your running? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Two Down…”

  1. Sam says :

    Well done on the run, improving all the time! Good job on the insanity thingy too! But bear in mind it is called insanity for a reason 🙂

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Yay, good for you…it’s best to ease back into it so as not to cause any other issues. That Insanity workout scares me just hearing about it…lol, I think I’ll stick with yoga 😀

  3. bosciamara says :

    Ciao, da quanto tempo corri?

  4. diawalker says :

    Motivational! -)

  5. Cat says :

    I definitely use other training methods to improve my running!!! I like to hit the weights (yes, I have a gym membership) but its amazing what you can do at home with a few resistance bands & some had weights 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

