Getting Back To It

So, that thing I said about liking a bit of drizzle on run days? Perhaps I should have mentioned that it doesn’t count if it’s blowing a gale, which is pretty much what it was doing yesterday. Don’t get me wrong, a I quite like a good strong breeze, but when I find myself jogging on the spot in a headwind, I know there’s not much point.

Needless to say, yesterday’s run was postponed but, since I’m determined to get back into a regular routine again, I went out today instead. In the sunshine! I know, but I need to stop making excuses and just get on with it.

Fortunately it wasn’t too warm when I headed down to the seafront this evening and the breeze was nice and cool so I was happy enough to have a go at a slow 3K. I wasn’t sure if I could manage without a walk break but, determined to drop the ratios, I left my GymBoss at home so that I wouldn’t be tempted to go back to run/walk for this session at least.

As it turned out, it wasn’t too bad. I managed to run the first 2K without any problems. My leg felt fine and the new shoes felt really good – a bit warmer than the old ones, but the cushioning felt great.

Still, after 2K I did take a short walk break as I was feeling a bit more out of breath than I would have liked, plus I really needed some water – I seem to have forgotten how to run and drink at the same time without choking myself!

After the walk break and a bit of water, I felt a lot better and plodded on to finish the 3K in 20:19 – not terribly fast, I know, but not terribly terrible either. Besides, the main objective for this week is to start running regularly again, so it’s a step in the right direction.

My plan for the rest of the week is to do another 3K on Friday and either parkrun on Saturday or a 5K on Sunday using run/walk ratios to get the distance in. I can’t wait!

How’s your training going? How do you get back into a regular routine again after a break? Please share your thought in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Getting Back To It”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Hey, you still covered 3K no matter the time πŸ˜€ I almost skipped my run today because of the weather…but I got it done before the rain moved in…yay!

  2. Leah Hallissey says :

    Well done on getting back on the road! I haven’t run since February but I’m doing a 5k Race for Life on Sunday. I’ve been meaning to start Parkrun but last week it was cancelled and the week before I was at the other end of the country!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hey Leah. Nice to see you back on the old blog. πŸ™‚ I haven’t been to parkrun for over a year, which is crazy, but hopefully I’ll get back there this weekend. That’s great you’re doing Race for Life on Sunday – should be fun! Best of luck and enjoy! πŸ™‚

  3. Sam says :

    Well done on getting out, you will be back to a regular pattern in no time

  4. Cat says :

    Love that feeling of pillowy happiness in new shoes πŸ™‚ I loathe running in windy weather!! I dislike it more than hills!!! Good job on the 3km.

    RE getting back into it, I put a schedule up on the wall & stick to it – but I’ve been at it for a few years & go a bit mental if I don’t get 3 runs in each week.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Ha ha! Yes, when I was training I’d freak out if I had to miss a run too – not so much now as I don’t have another race coming up, but in a way it’s quite nice not having the pressure. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

