New Shoes and Old Legs

Circle HopIt’s Saturday, which means it’s time for the Virtual Running UK Blog Hop.

Even though I’ve not been running much recently, I thought I’d better have a quick catch up and get my backside over the doorstep again for a bit of a run so that I can start contributing again.ย The blog hop is hosted at Virtual Running UK and it’s easy enough to sign up if you want to join in. Just click here and follow the instructions.

I’ve been really missing my training over the past few weeks, so to cheer myself up, I finally got myself a much needed new pair of running shoes. I didn’t bother with the whole getting fitted properly and running on the treadmill thing as I’d done that before and knew what I needed.

As I pronate slightly on one foot and not on the other, I’ve been told that a neutral shoe is best, so I opted for a pair of Asics Nimbus 16s. These are basically a neutral shoe but have a guidance system that can help with slight over or under-pronation, and they have plenty of cushioning and a bit of extra heel to help with the old achilles.

Asics2

Of course, having a shiny new pair of shoes sitting there staring at me for the last few days made me feel even more guilty about not running. So, even though I’ve still got a fair bit of numbness in my left leg, I decided to head out this morning to give them a little road test. Well, it would be rude not to.

I planned to run for about 30 minutes and felt pretty good to begin with. The old leg didn’t feel too bad and I kept the pace nice and slow, but after a couple of kilometres I decided to take a short walk break. The leg still felt ok, but it was quite warm on the seafront and I realised that, even with a short run, I should probably have taken a drink with me.

The walk break seemed to help and I carried on a bit further, but by the end of the third kilometre my stomach started complaining and I knew it was time to call it a day. A little bit disappointing, yes, but the leg feels no worse than it did before and at least the shoes got a bit of a test run.

The best part though, is that I got a bit of a run in. Even if it was only for about 20 minutes, it was still 20 minutes of activity that I wouldn’t have had otherwise. It all counts, right?

How’s your training going? Are you enjoying some warmer weather? Please share your thought in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “New Shoes and Old Legs”

  1. lisaamartin says :

    Hi, thanks for visiting my blog – you have a nice blog here too! Thanks also for alerting me to the Virtual Blog Hop – I’d never heard of that before so I’ve signed up ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Yes, absolutely it all counts!! I’m in need of a new pair of shoes too; I bought a new pair about 2 months ago but the others I have need to be retired and the only way I’m going to do that is to buy new ones :-/ Sorry to hear your leg is bothering you, I hope it’s not too serious and you’ll be able to run again soon.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi Sharon. The leg isn’t too bad thanks. I think I messed it up with the marathon training but the muscle pain has pretty much gone now – just a bit of numbness left, which I think has something to do with the tight muscles putting pressure on the nerveโ€ฆ something like that anyway, but no real damage so should be back on track again next week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    Running AT ALL counts! I badly need new shoes myself but just haven’t gotten to the Sneaker Store (where I like to get them). Your new ones look similar to ones I’ve had an liked. More motivation to get me to the store! Thanks!

  4. dgobs says :

    It definitely all counts! I’d love to go for a 20-minute run right now, but am sidelined at the moment with a knee injury. It is disappointing when a run doesn’t go as well as you’d like though, and hopefully your next one will be better!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

