The Lap of Honour

After months and months and month of training, the big day is almost here. Tomorrow is the Brighton Marathon or, as I like to think of it, my lap of honour after all that hard work and training.

I’ve been taking it fairly easy this week, trying to eat properly and stay calm. I don’t really feel nervous about it, although calm is probably not the right word either – more like resigned to the fact that I’m going to be doing this. And looking forward to it too, of course!

IMG_2578Today I popped down to the Expo to pick up my race number. It wasn’t too busy when I got there and I paused to listen to one of the speakers giving some pre-race advice, which got me feeling quite excited again. 

It was the usual stuff about not going off too quickly, sticking to your fuelling and hydration plan and remembering to enjoy the day; but there were a couple of things that he said that I will take with me on tomorrow’s 26.2 mile jaunt around Brighton and Hove:

  1. The race doesn’t start until after mile 20
  2. Draw on your best training runs when things get tough
  3. Remember to smile as you cross the finish line

As far as having a race plan goes, I don’t really have one. I put my predicted time down as between five and five and a half hours, which should be just about achievable if I stick to my ratio and keep the pace between 7:00 and 7:30 minutes per kilometre. However, if it takes longer, then that’s ok too.

After all, this is my lap of honour and I intend to enjoy every second of it!

Tags:

18 responses to “The Lap of Honour”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    GOOD LUCK tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That video gave me goose bumps. I hope you have great weather and feel light as a feather. And as you’ve said, make sure to enjoy it too!

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    Have fun and enjoy your ‘lap of honour’ xxx hope it goes well xxx

  3. EmmaJCarson says :

    Love the video – love the post and your attitude – GOOD LUCK x

  4. Keith says :

    Best of luck. Looking forward to hearing all about it x

  5. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    Good luck today!!! I’m sure you’ll be awesome! Can’t wait to read about how you get on 🙂

  6. Kerrie says :

    You’re probably running it ad I type! Have fun & good luck 🙂

  7. Dr. Mom says :

    You got this!! Have fun!

  8. osarah26 says :

    Can wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

