For Bling And A Banana

This time next week I’ll be running in the Brighton Marathon… no, really, I’ll still be running five and a half hours into the race. It’s going to be long and hard and painful, but somehow that doesn’t seem to matter any more.

Even if it takes me six hours, or six and a half, or seven… Ok, so I’ll probably keel over if I’m still going after seven hours, but the point is that the time really doesn’t matter. The important thing is to get out there, complete the distance and have fun!

Until this morning, I’d forgotten about the whole having fun aspect of the marathon. I’d been so worried about missing my final long run, the aches in my legs and not getting enough running in over the last few weeks, that the whole reason that I’m doing this completely slipped my mind.

I’m doing this because I love running and the opportunity to run for five and half hours or more, with thousands of other people, in my own neighbourhood, and with lots of people cheering us on is too good a chance to miss.

Ok, that’s a lie. I just want some bling and a banana.

bananas

So, with all thoughts of time goals pushed firmly to the back of my mind, I set out this morning for a slow 10K along the seafront and around the neighbourhood.

The old legs didn’t feel great and the pain in my left leg was still there, but it didn’t get any worse as I shuffled along making turrets on my running map by cutting back and forward down side streets – a nice way to make a short route a little bit longer.

2015-04-05_Map

In the end, I was having so much fun that I ran 11K instead of 10K, which brings this week’s running total up to a fairly feeble 16K (forgot to blog about Tuesday’s run – sorry!).

It doesn’t seem like much, I know, but as I’m tapering and don’t want to aggravate my leg too much, it will have to do. Perhaps I’ll get a 5K in later in the week. Who knows? But for now, I’m just trying to stay focussed on what it’s all about – bling and bananas!

How’s your training going? How do you keep your race day nerves at bay? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

This post is part of the Virtual Running UK Blog Hop. Click here to join the fun!

Tags: , , ,

21 responses to “For Bling And A Banana”

  1. Kerrie says :

    Bling and bananas though! The atmosphere will be amazing – its all about being there and taking part! I wish I could be there! Maybe in a few years. I’m sure its being broadcast on the telly so I might catch it for a little bit! 🙂

    • theblogrunner says :

      It will be on Ch4 the following Sunday. Apparently there will be smiley faces where the cameras are to remind us not to look too miserable! 🙂

      • Kerrie says :

        Haha! Smiley faces where the cameras are…oh well its good to know where they are. The park run photographer stands in some places I don’t see and the pics are…unique…. 😉

      • theblogrunner says :

        Ha ha! I hate having my photo taken at the best of times, but sweaty, red faced and grimacing is about as good as it’s going to get… or maybe a thumbs up if I have the energy. 😉

  2. artisticsharon says :

    Bling & Bananas…and Beer! When it’s really hot, there’s nothing better than a beer after a long run – although I’ve never done a Marathon; maybe a Bed would be better!

    Good Luck to you, I’m sure you’ll do well – especially since you’re focused on soaking it all in and having FUN! Can’t wait for the recap 🙂

  3. CeeJayKay says :

    OMG that has come around really quickly!!! You will ROCK it babes!!!! Wish I live closer I’d come and support you!!!! Take it easy and all the best in the days leading up to it xxx GO K!!!!

  4. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    Bling and bananas, huh? I’m running the Boilermaker 15K for the beer. Actually, not really. I can take responsibility for my own alcohol, jewelry and fruit. I hope your marathon is fun.

  5. Chatter says :

    Trust your training, you so got this! No matter what happens between now and race day you have put in the miles and time and you are ready. Go and have fun.

  6. Ice_Badger says :

    I tell you what..if I ran (crawled…) that far and someone handed me a banana I would beat them with it!!

    bananananas are the devils food!

    other than that…running a marathon is a whole new type of crazy but I am sure you will be awesome!!

    I struggled so much with my half that a marathon is never on the cards for me…
    read this for a whole list of things to avoid doing in order to make you experience fun
    https://midsummer365project.wordpress.com/2015/03/24/dear-running/

    I am in awe of anyone who can even consider running a marathon!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi. Thanks for the link. 🙂
      Yup, the marathon definitely a whole new type of crazy. I have no idea if I’ll do another one after this, but I guess there’s only one way to find out… I haven’t visited your blog for a while (sorry!) but will drop by again soon.
      I hope you’re having a good week. 🙂

      • Ice_Badger says :

        haha..that is ok! 🙂

        you have been busy running! which is important when training for stuff…I found this out when I didn’t do enough!

  7. dgobs says :

    Bling and bananas are good goals! 🙂 Good luck next week!!

  8. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    “It’s going to be long and hard and painful, but somehow that doesn’t seem to matter any more.”
    You summed it up. We keep going…

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

