Plugging On

With months of training under my belt and a little more than four weeks until the Brighton Marathon, I have to admit that I’m kind of looking forward to the taper. In the meantime though, I still need to keep plugging on and try to make up for my missing training sessions over the last few weeks.

Last night I wasn’t really in the mood for running, but I knew that I needed to get two mid-week runs in this week to make sure that I could cope with my final long run next weekend. So, when I got home from work, I did what I always tell other people to do when they aren’t feeling it – I switched off my brain, changed into my running gear and got my ass over the doorstep.

I decided to head for the seafront as usual but, as I was keen to get the run over with, I started running early so that I’d complete my first half kilometre before I even got there. This meant a bit of stopping to cross some main roads, but I didn’t mind. I couldn’t afford to risk a fast paced run anyway, especially if I wanted to get a second run done on Thursday.

By the time I got to the seafront, I was feeling pretty relaxed and started to enjoy taking it nice and slowly. There were a few other runners around and a couple of dog walkers. Nothing unusual there. But then I spotted a man sitting on a bench, listening to headphones and typing on a laptop. Now, I know that some people like to work on their laptops outside, but in the evening on the seafront when it’s already dark? Maybe it’s just me, but it did seem a bit odd.

The strangest thing though, was when I reached The View, a small bar/club on the seafront. I noticed that, as well as there being a lot more people than usual enjoying a drink outside, there was a large group standing by a row of campfires along the beach right next to them.

I wasn’t sure what was going on as there were a lot of young children around too. Perhaps something to do with Saint Patrick’s Day? Or just another one of Brighton and Hove’s many quirky gatherings? Who knows? But when people are hanging around the beach in the evening, it’s a sure sign that spring is on it’s way.

As for the run, I turned back at the campfires, past the man with the laptop, returned to my starting point and added a bit more to make it a full 6K. Not too bad for a Tuesday evening.

How’s your training going? Are you starting to notice the first signs of Spring? What unusual sightings have you spotted on your running adventures? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Plugging On”

  1. Tony Morrell says :

    Here in Christchurch, New Zealand, the season is on the turn too – winter is on the way. A decent southerly has blown up from Antarctica, everyone is putting on extra layers. Lots of folks out running though… The Christchurch Marathon is on May 31, it’s a great run…

    • theblogrunner says :

      After all my moaning and groaning about the wind and rain over the last few months, I’m starting to dread the heat now – not that it will be anything compared to New Zealand. 😉

  2. @ScorpioOnSUP says :

    Who hasn’t been there? Always fighting against this mood for indulgence that we can take it easy. 😉 Since I started reading Jack Daniels’ Running Formula, I learned that Rule 101 is consistent weekly mileage. Say, 30 miles or 40 miles a week in total, that is the distance you must run. So, in other words, we can’t slack off… LOL 🙂 Anyway, keep it up! Next weekend will be here in a blink of an eye. 😉

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

