Not Much Running

Last weekend’s long run left me feeling a bit worse for wear. In terms of energy and stiffness, I recovered within a couple of days, but on Sunday my ankle didn’t feel quite right.ย It didn’t feel injured, but there was a weakness there – that dull familiar ache of my previous injury coming back to haunt me?ย With a month to go until the Brighton Marathon, I wasn’t going to take any chances.

According to my self-styled training plan, today was to be a longish run of 15K, but as I hadn’t run all week and didn’t know how my ankle would hold out, I decided to just go for an easy 5K instead. As it turned out, this was a good call. The ankle was fine, although still a little weak, but I could really notice the difference of not having run for a whole week.

The main problem was that, eager to get going, I completely forgot about my pacing and started out too fast. Fortunately I realised this after the first kilometre and didn’t have to drop my ratio to complete the run, but it was slow. Still, it was good to get it done.

This week, I’m going to have to step things up a bit and make sure I get two decent mid-week runs in before my final long run next Saturday. After that, it’s taper time, so I need to make sure I’m back on track by then.

How’s your training going? What injury prevention strategies do you use as your training load starts to increase? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Not Much Running”

  1. artisticsharon says :

    Sometimes you just gotta take a break but I know how nerve-wracking it can be when you have a long distance run planned. Sounds like you did the right thing and hopefully your next run will go as planned.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I did beat myself up a bit about not getting a longer run in this weekend, but better to take an easy week now than to risk an injury so close to race day.
      Good to see you’re back to running again too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Movin' it with Michelle says :

    Hope that ankle feels better soon!!! My training is going pretty well. Knock on wood! If need be I often skip the mid week long run and just up my shorter runs a bit so my legs can rest. My weekend long runs I stick to pretty religiously though.

  3. CeeJayKay says :

    Look after yourself hunny ๐Ÿ™‚ you are going to killIT!
    My training is DISMAL at the moment… I downloaded Jeff Galloways 10K app… but sheesh i feel like i need a manual to operate it, will be sitting down to night to check it out… no idea where to start… i know you did the 3:1 ratio… is that where you started? so its like 3 min run, 1 min walk for the total of 31 minutes

  4. CeeJayKay says :

    arrrgh my mac froze! ๐Ÿ™‚ sorry…
    and then you can change that ratio? is that right?

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

