The Penultimate Long Run

Screen Shot 2015-03-07 at 21.25.09With only five weeks left until the Brighton Marathon, I figured that I’ve just about got enough time for two more long runs before the big day.

While most marathon training programs suggest a maximum of 20 miles in the final long run before the marathon, I’m not convinced. For me, being able to run an extra 6 miles (10K) for the first time on race day seems optimistic at best – if there’s a wall at 20 miles then it makes sense to me that that’s where I’d hit it if I’d never gone beyond it before. After all, with my pace, we are talking about more than an hour on top of that to finish a marathon.

So, my plan for today’s run was to run something between 35 and 37K, or four and a half hours, depending on how it went.

To be honest, I wash’t really feeling up for it this morning. Despite getting up early, my stomach wasn’t quite ready for running until after 8:00 am, which meant that I would finish later than I had planned. Still, as it is Saturday, I had the whole day so it didn’t really matter that much.

I didn’t plan a route and thought it better to just play it by ear in case I decided to cut it short. My stomach still wasn’t great when I headed out so I wasn’t going to take any chances by heading off towards Saltdean too early. Instead, I ran along some of the main roads in Hove for the first 10K, untilΒ nature called me down to the public toilets on the seafront.

Once all of that was sorted, I took my first gel and decided that I would be fine to head to Saltdean on the undercliff path.

The first half of the run went really well. I took a gel every hour, stuck to my ratio, hydrated at every walk break and was on pace to hit my target of 37K in 4:30. But then at around 23K things started to slow down.

I know that you can’t run that kind of distance without some discomfort, and I can usually handle the aches in my calves and the backs of my thighs, but not today. Today just after 23 kilometres, I had to stop, just for a few minutes, to stretch out my legs before I could go on.

The stretching seemed to do the trick and the pain went for long enough to get me through the marina and back onto the promenade. But by then I faced another problem. People!

While I love seeing runners and walkers and cyclists out on the promenade, by late morning the place was crammed with people with dogs and scooter powered children, strolling along, taking their time and generally making things too crowded to run. Frustrating as this was, I resigned myself to the fact that I would have to drop my ratio to negotiate the crowds and, once I got back to Hove Lawns, I made my escape to the main road.

By this point I had covered over 30 kilometres and, while my legs were pretty much shot, I still felt confident that I could get to 37K within 4:30. The only problem though, was that the pain in my legs was getting a lot worse and I was having to stop more and more frequently to stretch, so I decided to make a deal with myself. I would run for 4:30 and then finish whichever kilometre I was on before calling it day.

So that’s what I did. 36K in 4:31:19 – just one kilometre short of my goal and just over six short of a marathon. Not bad going all things considered.

In terms of running 42.2K before marathon day, I can’t see that happening, but if I can add another few kilometres to my final long run in two weeks time, I’ll be happy with that.

How’s your training going? How far do you run for your final long run before a marathon? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “The Penultimate Long Run”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    Wow babes you are truly inspirational!!!! Bl**dy well done!!! I am beaming for you even though I can almost feel your pain xxx wow! So kewl xxxx

  2. unsportywomencanrun says :

    Great job on your 36k. If you can do that you’ve got the marathon in the bag!

  3. theglobejogger says :

    Well done. I usually only do as far as 35 K before a marathon. I always do a lil more than 3/4 of race distance on final long run.

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. That makes a lot of sense. Even if I don’t get any further before race day, narrowing the gap down to 6km or so certainly makes it feel much more achievable. πŸ™‚

  4. mohawkvalleygirl says :

    I am so impressed by anybody who runs such long distances and your pushing through the pain is inspirational. I’ve often said I want to run a marathon, but I don’t know that I could get that organized. I just go out and run (which I intend to do this week, and write a blog post about).

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. πŸ™‚
      Excited as I am about the marathon, I must admit that I will be glad once it’s done. It will be nice to just go out and run for the sake of running for a change.
      I’m looking forward to reading about your run. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

  5. Cat says :

    Hi there, well done on the run. I’ve only done one marathon & ran 36kms 2 weeks prior (running coach said that was the max I should run before the marathon) & then 20kms the weekend before. I’m no expert, but I think in your head 5 – 6 kms sounds achievable on top of your max distance already run!!. Good luck for the event!!!!!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi Cat. Thank you for your words of encouragement. I’m not sure if I’ll do more 36K before race day now as the recovery from these longer runs is hard going, but you’re absolutely right about the next 5-6K feeling more achievable – and that’s half the battle, right? πŸ˜‰

      • Cat says :

        Yes indeed!! It really is a mind game at times. Best to let your body recover as much as possible before the big day. I’m no good at “just enjoying the day” too much going on in my head, but maybe you can………….stick to your routine, don’t try anything new & all the very best
        for the event πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

