A Bit Of A Slog

This morning’s run was a bit of a slog. I’ve been taking it easy this week after the Brighton Half, so I didn’t really have any goals in mind, other than that I would do at least 5K.

I headed out at around 9:00 am. It was bright and sunny outside, and the temperature seems to have lifted a bit, so I didn’t wear as many layers as usual – I figured that a t-shirt and thin running jacket would be plenty.

As I headed towards the seafront, I decided to start running a bit earlier than usual and set off at a faster than usual pace. I knew right away that it was probably too fast, but I told myself that some speed work would be good after all the long slow running that I’ve been doing recently.

I kept the pace going as I headed east along the seafront with the wind behind me, but pretty soon I started to feel too hot. I didn’t want to slow my pace too much to take my jacket off, so I decided to keep going until I reached my walk break at around 2.5K.

This was also my turnaround point and, for the first few minutes it felt really nice running into the cool breeze. But then something went wrong. I don’t know if it was because I’d set off too fast, or if it was because I had overheated in the first half of the run, but I just didn’t feel good.

Rather than stop completely, I decided to slow down and take more frequent walk breaks. I was heading back home anyway, so I thought I might as well jog for some of it. This seemed to help and, although I still didn’t feel great, I still managed to complete the 5K in just under 34 minutes – including the few minutes when I popped in to the public toilets and forgot to pause the Garmin!

So, all in all, not a great run. But these things happen from time to time and I feel fine now.

Next week, it’s back to marathon training. Only six weeks to go!

How’s your training going? How do you deal with a bad run? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “A Bit Of A Slog”

  1. Kerrie says :

    Marathon training?? 😀

  2. dgobs says :

    I had a tough run this weekend too… everything just felt off, and lots of things hurt. It was discouraging, but I keep hearing from running veterans that not every run will be awesome, so I’m just looking forward to my next one and hoping it will be better 🙂 I hope your next one is better too!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Hi. Yes, the next one was much better, thanks. I basically went out too fast when I should have been recovering. Lesson learned!
      I hope your next one goes better too. 🙂

  3. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    It’s annoying when it doesn’t go right isn’t it? I had a hissy fit the other day because I went a mile & got fed up! Well done for getting out. Beating those folk sat on the sofa 🙂 and awesome news about the marathon! What are you doing?

    • theblogrunner says :

      It’s true. Even a crappy mile is better than sitting on the couch all day. 😉
      I’m doing the Brighton Marathon in 6 weeks time – my first one, so very excited and nervous too. Should be fun though. 🙂

      • redfacedbutrunderful says :

        That’s true! I still threw a mild hissy fit hehe! Wow really? Thats so exciting! How are you feeling? Excited?!

      • theblogrunner says :

        Honestly? A little bit terrified! But, yes, I’m really excited about it – I always thought running a marathon took super human powers, but now I’m starting to realise that might actually be something that I could do, as long as I stick to the training. 🙂

      • redfacedbutrunderful says :

        Aww! Your blog speaks volumes about your prep so I reckon you’ll fly it! Are you running with anyone? Yeah? Its amazing what you can do when you put your mind to it! 🙂 think how awesome you’ll feel when you’ve done it?!

      • theblogrunner says :

        Thank you. 🙂 I’m running on my own, which I like to do as it clears my head – also, everyone I know who runs is much faster than I am. 😉
        Still, I hope to catch up with some of them afterwards to share the awesomeness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

