Post Half Marathon Recovery Run

After Sunday’s Half Marathon, I thought I would need most of the week to recover, but I’m feeling surprisingly good. Yes, the old muscles are still a bit stiff and sore, but energy wise I feel great, so I decided to take myself out for a nice little recovery run this evening.

The temperature was quite mild and there wasn’t much wind to worry about, so I went easy on the layers and headed down to the seafront and the usual 5K route. My plan was to take things fairly easy, using a 3:1 ratio, and to try not to think about my pace.

Although I did check my Garmin a couple of times to see how I was doing, it was nice to just run by feel for a change. After all, the main objective of the run was to simply get out and run.

Of course, I had to give myself something to think about while I was running, so I decided to focus on my form. I’m very aware that when I’m running I don’t seem to lift my legs very much – my left leg in particular often feels stiff, almost like I am dragging it.

I don’t think it’s a coincidence that the left leg is the one that has had all the injury problems, but I’m not sure if my running style is the result of injury or the cause of it. Either way, I thought it would be a good idea to see if I could even things up a little bit by trying to lift my left heel more as I pushed off.

To be honest, it felt kind of weird at first (I guess it always does when I’m experimenting with form), but after a while I started to get into it and it didn’t feel too bad, so I’ll probably work some more on it and see if it makes any difference.

How do you recover after a race? How long do you wait it before your next run? Have you tried to correct your form and running style to help deal with niggles and injuries? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Post Half Marathon Recovery Run”

  1. Chatter says :

    My primary goal this year is to have a faster 50k time. I have found a bit of speed work, form focus and practice and high miles have done the trick for me as posted in my blog. Because I am following an ultra based training plan I often run back to back Saturday/Sunday long runs totalling 35 to 50 miles. Keep at it, work on the feel and form if the run at different points of your run so you will get an idea of your form early and late in a race.

    • theblogrunner says :

      That’s a really good point – I hadn’t really thought of it like that but form does change throughout the run, particularly on longer distances when you get tired. Something to think about on my next long run.
      I hope your training is going well πŸ™‚

  2. CeeJayKay says :

    you know, i told hubby i always think about ‘form’ ALSO because i feel i have a weakness on the right, my right hip always hurts, my right knee, my right shin… always on the right and i also feel that my left feels stronger on the run and so i also think about it while i am running, trying to even out, align etc… he just laughed at me and said ‘run, just run and stop over thinking’… but i guess because i had never run before last year, its NOT something that comes naturally…. and i DO think about it… a lot.
    I watched Mo on Saturday and for the first time i looked at HOW HE WAS RUNNING… wow, what an inspiration, to run like that and look so beautiful at the same time…
    You dear girl are an inspiration, so just keep doing what ya do xxxx

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Cee Jay. It’s definitely something worth thinking about, especially when the niggles start creeping in, and I’m sure Mo does a lot of work on his form too – he is amazing to watch, isn’t he? πŸ™‚

  3. dgobs says :

    My recovery after my first half marathon wasn’t great… I didn’t run at all for 2 weeks! When I finally did it felt awful and I hated it and was wondering if I’d ever like running again. Next time I’m going to make sure I do some recovery runs πŸ™‚
    I’m working on fixing my form now to try to avoid injuries, and it’s hard! It feels so odd running in a different way than I’m used to, and all these different muscles are sore from actually being used. It’s still too early to tell if it will help with injuries, but my fingers are crossed! Good luck with your gait changing… hope it helps!

    • theblogrunner says :

      I have to admit that I felt more tired than usual this morning after yesterday evening’s run, but I’m still glad I did it. All the aches from the weekend seem to have disappeared, which is nice. πŸ™‚
      I read your post the other day about changing the way you run, so I think you may have planted the seed there – I hope it gets easier for you too and that you start noticing the difference soon. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

