Brighton Half Marathon 2015

HM LogoYesterday was the 25th annual Brighton Half Marathon, and my very first Half Marathon. Ok, so I have run the distance before and taken part in virtual half marathons, but this would be the first time I had ever taken part in an organised event of 13.1 miles with other runners.

Naturally, I was a bit nervous, but very excited about the whole thing. My main concern was getting to the start line on time, but as I live fairly close by, it wasn’t a problem. I had laid everything out the night before, set my alarm for 6:00 am, and checked the bus timetable and weather forecast the night before. All I had to do was get up, get dressed and catch the bus. So far so good.

I arrived at the race village just before 8:00 am, which gave me plenty of time to relax and soak up the atmosphere, drop my bag off, use the toilet and find my start pen. Despite the fact that there were around 12,000 people there, it didn’t feel overcrowded as everything was spread out enough along Madeira Drive to give people space to mill around, stretch and warm up.

The start pens were easy to find with different coloured flags to match the colours on the race bibs according to your estimated finish time. I was in the 2:15:00 to 2:29:00 pen and stayed close to the back. My PB for the distance was around 2:27:18 and, although I was hoping for sub 2:25:00, given my recent bout of flu, I told myself that I would be happy with anything under 2:30:00. After all, it’s a whole different ball game when you’re running in a crowd.

As far as I could tell, the race got underway on time, but being so far back I didn’t cross the start line for another 9-10 minutes. Still, it wasn’t a problem as everything is chip timed, so I started the Garmin as I crossed the line and reminded myself to relax.

BHM7483-1024x683I had planned to use my usual 3:1 run/walk ratio, but as the pace for the first few hundred metres was very slow due to the crowds, I decided to just keep running until things thinned out a bit. I figured that I wouldn’t worry too much about my pace, but I’d try to keep it at around 6:50 – 7:00 minutes per kilometre (including walk breaks) for the first half of the run at least.

Of course, that didn’t happen. I was feeling really good and the weather was much nicer than it has been on any of my long training runs so I decided to not worry about easing off and just run at whatever pace felt comfortable.

I checked my Garmin after the first 5K and noticed that I was around 33 minutes. This was a good sign as it meant that I was well ahead of time for a PB. Nothing to get excited about, of course, as I still had over 16K to go, but it was good to know that I was on track as I ascended the only hill on the course.

To be honest though, the hill was not as bad as I had imagined, so much so that at one point I even skipped a walk break. I wouldn’t normally do this as it doesn’t really do anything for my time overall, but at that point the route was getting crowded again and it would have been more hassle to pull over to the side to slow down and stop than it would have been to keep running – so I kept running.

At 8K I took my first gel. I didn’t feel that I needed it, but I’d planned to take one at 8K and 16K to make sure that I refuelled before I got in to trouble. This meant taking a slightly longer walk break, which did slow my average pace down a little, but I figured I would make up for it later.

As we ran back down the hill and into Brighton, the support was amazing. I never realised before, when I was out there cheering people on last year, just what a difference that makes – especially when you are starting to feel tired, which I was at around 16K.

By that point though, I was on familiar ground, running along Hove promenade past the beach huts as I do pretty much every time I go out for a run – one of the advantages of running in your own city.

2015-02-22_Map

Still, I took a slightly longer walk break for my second gel and reminded myself that I was still on track for a sub 2:30:00, and might even manage to get under 2:25:00 as long as I didn’t let the pace drop too much.

Of course, the pace did drop, but I ignored it. My legs were hurting, so I just tried to focus on the ratio. Three minutes running, one minute walking, nice and easy until I got my second wind, which came just as we turned off the promenade by the Peace Statue and back up to the road.

We had just over 2 kilometres to go and my time was around 2:08:00, so I knew I was in with a really good chance of beating my goal of 2:25:00. All I had to do was keep moving and pick up the pace where I could. And somehow, I did.

HM Medal 02 (2)As we approached Madeira Drive, the crowds gave me another huge lift and I decided to ignore the Garmin, ditch the walk breaks, and try to pass as many people as possible in the final kilometre. I knew by then that I was going to get a PB and it was going to be under 2:25:00, but imagine my surprise when I crossed the finish line, pressed stop on the Garmin and saw that I’d finished in 2:21:27.

My official chip time was 2:21:23 and, although it’s not a fast time by most people’s standards, I couldn’t be happier. And the medal isn’t bad either, even if it is pink!

How’s your training going? Did you run this weekend? Do you have a race coming up? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “Brighton Half Marathon 2015”

  1. thecrazyrunnergirl says :

    Congrats on the PB sounds like you smashed it at the end! 😀

  2. Hannah says :

    Well done! That is fantastic:-)

  3. CeeJayKay says :

    WOW!!!!! how faaaaaabulous Kirsten! i think you SMASHED it babes!!! Well DONE!!!! xxx

  4. Kerrie says :

    😀 go you!! It looks and sounds amazing! Even saw it on the news! Congratulations 🙂 and you smashed your goal! 🙂 🙂

  5. artisticsharon says :

    Congratulations!! Wow, what a great time and a PB as well. I’m so happy to hear your recent bout with the flu didn’t interfere with your race. Sounds like you had a great time too, and I love the medal!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thanks Sharon. I felt surprisingly fresh on the day, possibly because I hadn’t run much the two weeks previously, so maybe i got the flu at just the right time.
      The medal is a bit different isn’t it? I’m not a fan of pink, but it is quite cool to have something a bit more colourful than usual. 😉

  6. dgobs says :

    Congrats on the great race and the PB!

  7. unsportywomencanrun says :

    Well done! That is a great time by any standards!!!

  8. rufusedgar says :

    Well done on the race and your PB. I was thinking of doing Brighton as one of my #12in12months but managed to wangle Barcelona Half Marathon instead. Have Miami this weekend as well, because im there with work. Best of luck with your running!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you. 🙂 I chose Brighton for my first half as it’s where I live, but I’d recommend it to anyone as the support was amazing.
      Good luck with Miami and the rest of your #12in12months. 🙂

  9. redfacedbutrunderful says :

    Ahhhh well done you!! That’s very awesome. The day sounded like it couldn’t have been better & that you really enjoyed it 🙂 when’s the next one? You’ve got the bug now so I bet there’ll be plenty more to come! Amazing job… Yay for you! 🙂

  10. willbfit says :

    Pardon my French, but you kicked ass!!! Woo-hoo!! Congratulations, and terrific job!!

  11. selldwellertse says :

    Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

