Post Flu Test Run

It has been over a week since my last post and my last run. I had planned to get a couple of runs in last weekend and early this week in preparation for Sunday’s Brighton Half Marathon, but unfortunately my immune system had different ideas.

I wasn’t overly concerned when I woke up last Friday morning with a bit of a sniffle, but by lunchtime I knew it wasn’t good, and by the time I left work all I wanted to do was go to bed and sleep for a week – which is pretty much what I did, give or take a couple of days.

Thankfully, I was feeling a lot better today but I was a bit worried about how I would cope with Sunday’s race, so I decided to go for a short easy run to test out my legs and lungs.

I ran on the seafront as usual and couldn’t help but notice that everyone else who was out for a run seemed to be taking it easy too – I like to think that they were also preparing for Sunday’s race, but it’s hard to tell.

Anyway, the run was fine. My legs still feel a bit stiff and my cough was a bit annoying, but my breathing was fine so I’m feeling pretty good about Sunday’s race.

How’s your training going? When’s your next race? How do you deal with winter colds and sniffles? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Post Flu Test Run”

  1. CeeJayKay says :

    Please you’re feeling better x ALL THE VERY BEST for Sunday hunny!!! GO GET EM!!!! Xxx

  2. Keith says :

    My next race is not until May and I too have had another cold which has stopped me running. For me a cold will bring on my Asthma therefore it is wise to stop with the training (if I am heavily congested) and concentrate on getting better. There is no point running when you feel rough as you will only make yourself feel worse and take longer to heal.

  3. chocolaterunnergirl says :

    Hope you are all better for Sunday!
    My next race is next Saturday! I’m part of a marathon relay team! Should be fun! I have been using some Young Living essential oils this winter for the first time and had been able to ward off being sick! It has been pretty fab! I don’t think I would have believed it if it wasn’t my personal experience!
    Good luck tomorrow!!

    • theblogrunner says :

      Thank you, and good luck to you too for next Saturday. I used echinacea one winter to ward off colds and flu, and it worked – must remember to do that in the future. 😉

  4. artisticsharon says :

    😦 sorry to hear you were sick…Good luck tomorrow! Can’t wait to hear how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

There's Nothing Wrong with Ohio

Learning to love Ohio...and myself

Finding My Inner Kate

...because life is not a Twilight movie...

The VSG and Me

A journey to a healthier me

a mile run

One runners blog

The Old Lady Runs

Over 50 and starting to run for the first time

Running My own life

As We Grow We Become Exactly What We Are Meant To Be

theoldfellowgoesrunning

My life's aspirations, inspirations and a little bit about running :)

shinsplintdiary

My efforts to overcome shin splints and become "a runner"

atransformationblog

My weight loss journey!

tryingsomethingnew

college, lifestyle, and travel

One At A Time

Help give someone a second chance

Running through my 40's

I'm not a runner ... but I'm trying to be!

78milesandcounting..

Follow my journey from Mile 1 to Mile 78..

getupoffathatcouch

This girls journey from the couch to a half marathon and beyond (now marathon training!); the highs, the lows and everything in between and a few random posts about life

RandRuns

Running Far and Having Fun

Ben's Running Blog

Urgh, stupid running...

BuggyRunningDad

A dad who runs, with a running buggy

triathletentraining

One step at a time.

Chii

Lifestyle blog of a frustrated writer

DM Run Blog

Running, plus a bit of NFL, F1 and Tech

The Dude Run Run

A running blog to motivate me and maybe others.

The Recipe Chic

Just a girl who loves to cook, code and take photos

Kiwi in Korea

Living, working and travelling in the ROK.

A Marathon in a Year

From couch to 26.2 miles in 365 days

escaped creativity

I can help you stand out from the crowd.

Ramblings of a Wannabe Runner

There are 2 types of people in the world. Those who are good at it and those who want to be good at it. I'm the latter

